Day 11: Hot Chocolate

Hello friends!

Brooke is off at a full-day conference today, so it will be just me reviewing the tea. Who knew time change would be so difficult for two roomies who want to enjoy a cup of tea together? In any case, I’ll try to bring some excitement by adding thoughts from my co-worker Poppy, and Eric to round out the post. Let’s see how hot chocolate tastes in tea form!

Tea: Hot Chocolate

Hot Chocolate

Description: We take hot chocolate pretty seriously around here. It’s gotta be rich, decadent and mega-creamy. And after searching high and low for the ultimate hot chocolate tea, we finally found the perfect blend. We took a flavourful base of pu’erh and black tea, then we added real cocoa nibs and fudgy chocolate chips. The result? An uber-chocolately blend worthy of the name Hot Chocolate. Dark, sweet and totally satisfying, it’s the perfect winter treat.

Ingredients: Pu’erh tea, black tea, cocoa nibs, chocolate chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), chocolate curls (sugar, cocoa butter, whole milk powder, chocolate liquor, whey powder, lactose, soy lecithin, vanilla), stevia extract

Since Brooke wasn’t able to have the tea with me today, that meant that I was able to have it right in the morning. It was quite the change!

*sip*

Stacey: Well this is definitely a pur’eh.
Poppy: It’s kind of got a smokey taste to it.
Stacey: Yeah, not as sweet as I was expecting.
Poppy: I don’t hate it but I don’t know if I love it. It kind of tastes like watered down hot chocolate.
Stacey: Almost tastes like one of those chocolate calcium chews…not sure if that’s a good thing though. Any final thoughts?
Poppy: I probably wouldn’t buy it myself, but I would drink it if someone offered it to me.
Stacey: And that’s exactly what happened!

Later this morning Eric also provided his two cents: 

Eric: It’s a sweet tea that hit its mark in terms of the flavor. Unfortunately it doesn’t quite live up to what a hot chocolate is, especially like the one we had on the canal. I’m sure a foamy late version of it would make it much more enjoyable.
Stacey: Agreed, earlier Poppy and I were saying it was almost like a watered down hot chocolate. I almost prefer this though, mostly because hot chocolate is often too sweet for me.
Eric: Good point, I almost never drink hot chocolate because the sweetness is overpowering. So the watered down might not be a failure but rather a way to make it more enjoyable for us.
Stacey: I would be interested to try this is in a latte format though.

Final Thoughts: 

Stacey: As usually, as the tea cooled down the more flavour notes were present. This tea has a nice smooth creamy factor to it that bring out different layers of chocolate. I really enjoyed drinking this one but probably wouldn’t make it one of my regulars. Glad I got to try it though with 24 days of tea!

 Here’s what the Twitterverse had to say:

@lol_laurabHot Chocolate Pu’erh was the warm hug I needed to wake up on this sluggish Friday. Thanks to @DAVIDsTEA #24daysoftea ☕️

@jfeliciao: today’s @DAVIDsTEA #24DaysOfTea selection is one of my FAVES!!!! #HotChocolate

@megj95: When you start the day with hot chocolate tea it can only be a good day! Thank you @DAVIDsTEA #24daysoftea #heaven

Well, that’s another one for the books folks. What did you all think of this one? See you tomorrow for another round!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke (and Poppy and Eric)

Here’s hoping that this will be open soon!

Leave a Reply

