Day 10: Nepal Black

Hi tea lovers!

Today was a whirlwind day for me and I actually didn’t get to drink the tea. 😦 I know, what a heartbreak! Seeing as though it is so late in the day and knowing how much caffeine affects me, I thought it best to sit this one out. Good thing André, Brooke, and my Mom all got a taste. Read below to see what they thought!

Tea: Nepal Black

Description: There are good things brewing in the Highlands of Nepal. Like this hand-made black tea, from a small family-owned tea garden named Jun Chiyabari. From the first sip you’ll notice its rich, sweet, honey-like flavour. What doesn’t come through in the cup is how much good this little tea garden does. They’ve set up a ton of amazing community programs to benefit local schools, underprivileged families, and the elderly. This particular tea is a DAVIDsTEA exclusive – now that’s a good thing.

Ingredients: Black tea from Nepal

Lorie: The tea smells like chocolate today! It’s a nice “wake up and start the day” tea. Or if you want to relax it would be a great tea to enjoy while reading a book. I loved that it didn’t have a bitter aftertaste!

Over in Victoria…

André: Mmmm, that’s good tea.
Brooke: Tell me more.
André: Well, Nepal Black is one of the top 5 DAVIDsTEA brews for me, along with North African Mint, Alpine Punch, Saigon Chai, and Darjeeling. It’s like a 5-way tie for the best teas in my books. I don’t know how to describe it; I find it earthier than the Darjeeling, which has a little bit more of a forest-y, sunny, mossy kind of flavour. Nepal Black, though, makes me think of the deep alpine forests. While both are earthy, the Darjeeling is a light and Nepal Black is deep and rich- delicious.
Brooke: Beautifully said. I find it’s also got a caramel-like sweetness to it. Ah yes, the description mentions a honey characteristic, I really get that when I take my first sips. Also, as a black tea, it’s surprisingly free from bitterness.
André: That’s just it- it’s very smooth.
Brooke: But still heavy and full on the palate, what a wonderful weight.
André: Absolutely. I find it a very rich and well rounded tea.
Brooke: Yes, this is just splendid. It’s not hiding anything, it’s not trying to be anything else. It’s rugged but it doesn’t need to prove anything.
André : For anyone who likes black teas, this is the one I recommend.
Brooke: I’m not sure though, it is very sweet for a black tea, no doubt about that. So if someone likes the bitter punch of a smokey black tea, this one wouldn’t be something they would want to reach for. I personally really like this.
André: Well, it’s not like orange pekoe, but I find you get everything you want out of a black tea, with the bitterness removed. Without that bitterness, you get to taste the complexity of the tea more. I kind of wish we had a bag of this… (hint hint).
Brooke: Mmm.. let’s finish this tin off, yummy!
Final thoughts:

André: Often I actually can’t taste how delicious this tea is because I get so excited that I sip it while it’s too hot and burn my tongue. I can’t control myself sometimes! This one’s a keeper.

Brooke: I really enjoy the sweetness of this, it’s subtle and is a good balance to the harshness of black tea leaves. Well done, DAVID!

Back in Ottawa…

Oh man!! Looks like a missed a good one! Hopefully tomorrow will be a herbal tea so I can have this one in the morning…

Until next tea,
Stacey and mostly Brooke and André

