Day 9: Cinnamon Rooibos Chai

Hi tea drinkers!

Today was another busy one; Stacey was in meetings all morning and I was off teaching science to grade 8s…in French! Phew! Look at us. To add to the fun, I decided that it would be a great idea to speak about the tea today en francais. Let’s see how it turned out!

Tea: Cinnamon Rooibos Chai

Cinnamon Rooibos Chai

Description: Cinnamon is so much more than just the tastiest spice around. According to aromatherapy principles, it supposedly enhances your ability to concentrate. Plus it has a clean and refreshing taste your breath will thank you for. In in this cinnamon-packed rooibos tea, its benefits truly shine. Amazing hot, iced or as a spicy tea latte, it’s a delicious new way to enjoy a classic spice.

Ingredients: Rooibos, apple, cinnamon. With natural cinnamon flavouring.

Stacey: Brooke I HATE this tea.
Brooke: What?! You haven’t even sipped it!
Stacey: I just remember this tea from one of our previous posts and I think every word out of my mouth was “ick” and “yuck”. It’s just too sweet for my taste buds. But my Mom said that it reminded her of cinnamon hearts that her Dad would get her every Valentine’s Day.
Brooke: Aw, that’s super cute. I love how tea can evoke such vivid memories.
Stacey: And my Dad really liked the tea, probably because it was so sweet.
Brooke: Well it certainly smells like candied cinnamon hearts to me.
Stacey: Ugh, I don’t want to drink it.
Brooke: But maybe it’s different this time, Stace! Give it a chance.

*sip*

Brooke: [Cue the French] Que penses-tu?
Stacey: Oh….It’s not as bad as I remember. I mean, wait, um…
Brooke: Tu l’aimes?
Stacey: Wait why I am I the one typing this? I won’t be able to know what you’re saying. My French is okay but not necessarily “scribe” ready!
Brooke: That is going to make that much better.
Stacey: Er… Ce n’est pas…sweet? (sucré) aujourd’hui.
Brooke: I find it doesn’t really go well with my pickle. I mean…Je pense que le goût…
Stacey: Oh god.
Brooke: …ne vas pas avec ma lunch.
Stacey: Ma lunch?
Brooke: Déjeuner? Parce que j’ai encore le goût de cornichon dans ma bouche. Je suis d’accord avec tes sentiments, Stacey. Ce thé n’est pas aussi sucré qu’on a pensé.
Stacey: Okay, back to English, I can’t handle this.
Brooke: Well, we tried!
Stacey: I think it’s not as sweet this time because DAVIDsTEA changed the ingredients again. Ah yes, no honey or orange peel this time.
Brooke: Yeah, André was harping on the orange zest last time too, so he may enjoy the blend this year! Hooray!

Final Thoughts: 

Stacey: Any other thoughts Brooke?
Brooke: I am going to give this one away.
Stacey: Oh, why?
Brooke: I just I don’t think I would have a craving for this type of tea. Cinnamon has never been a flavour I have searched for in my food. In the same way I don’t much like cinnamon hearts and hot lip candies, this tea really isn’t my jam. It’s neat, though. Just not one I’d reach for.
Stacey: I actually like this one better this time, surprisingly!
Brooke: Well, my Mom approves of this tea, too.
Stacey: Mom and Dad approved! Win!

Twitter was also confused and pleased with Day 9:

@dilaralit   Day 9: cinnamon rooibos chai. Not a big fan of this one but it sure is festive with my sugar cookie 🎄

@joolstothegools I like Day 9, but I’m mixing it with a caffeinated chai because MORNINGS.

Day 9 was a strong & festive tea. Might be in the running for #1. 
This tea shocked us and rocked us (in a mostly good way), how about you? Did it make you feel festive? L’as-tu aimé?
Au prochain thé,
Brooke and Stacey
422281184547451neja1eicc

Yum! I mean, miam!

Leave a Reply

