Day 6: Glitter and Gold

Hello tea lovers!

Stacey here to bring you day 6 of the 24 days of tea. Today’s tea is one that Brooke and I enjoyed before exactly 3 years ago when, if you remember, Brooke’s toe had an unfortunate accident with our apartment wall. This year thankfully Brooke’s toe went unscathed but there has been a change to the ingredients list. Let’s see if this brew will still have our toes a-tingling!

Tea: Glitter and Gold

Glitter & Gold

Description: Looking for a little star power? This sweet, spiced black tea is filled with pretty little gold star-shaped sprinkles. Take a sip and the slow suggestion of cinnamon will warm your body. Your toes will tingle and your mind will turn to fireworks, falling stars, late-night seduction. It’s basically magic.

Ingredients: Chinese black tea, lemon peel, sugar sprinkles (sugar, rice flour, partly hydrogenated canola oil , shellac, titanium oxide, iron oxide, potato starch), sugar, cloves, natural and artificial flavouring.

Stacey: Okay, so, my parents say the cinnamon is strong with this one, and they kind of think it reminds them of chai. What do we think?
Brooke: The tea isn’t glittering and my heart is broken! What…what happened? There aren’t any glimmering sugar crystals in this one like there were before. The glitter stars have no shimmering effect!

(Brooke: People, this is big. Glitter and Gold was gorgeous- it made your tea look like liquid gold, but this just looks like a regular black tea- I am so sad). 

Stacey: I’m Googling it, apparently there’s a petition (signed by 48 individuals) to bring back the old Glitter and Gold. Wow, people are angry! (Side note: If you are angry too, you can sign the petition here)

*sip*

Brooke: Mmmm at least they didn’t change the flavour!
Stacey: Uh oh, I think I might have over steeped mine. It’s a bit too strong right now.
Brooke: Wow, yeah, not me.  The cinnamon’s nice, the cloves are nice, everything about this tea is nice.
Stacey: Actually, no I didn’t over steep at all. This tea is great! Maybe it doesn’t need to glimmer! It still shimmers taste-wise.
Brooke: What a weird thing to say.
Stacey: My brain’s not working properly yet, Brooke.
Brooke: I bet my Dad’s going to like this one.
Stacey: Yeah, it’s sophisticated like him. It’s not a chai, but it’s got a lot of the same flavours.
Brooke: I think so far out of the calendar, this is my favourite taste and smell wise.
Stacey: I did like the smell, too. The cinnamon and cloves were hitting me in the face. But in a nice way, you know?
Brooke: Of course, I do that all the time!

We then took a little break from the tea review to chat about Christmas shopping, stockings, and stocking fillers. (Brooke: It’s Christmas! It’s December! How exciting! I want to sing carols!)

Brooke: Mm, I am really enjoying this tea! The cloves just make me feel so Christmas-y.
Stacey: Eric said it tasted like fruit cake to him, so that makes sense!

Final thoughts:

Stacey: This tea is toasty and has some really nice flavours. I like it, even without the shimmer!
Brooke: Me too. I find this one to bring back some great memories of DAVIDsTEA Christmases of past, and I’m happy they’re including some good ones this year. I think this tin won’t last long!
Stacey: Ours is already gone…

Here is what the people of Twitter had to say:

: It’s a mild spicy cinnamon flavor & has a pretty,lustrous shimmer to it. Gltr&gold is the Elizabeth Taylor of tea!
Jour6! avec un thé favori le Briller de Mille Feux. Une combinaison parfaite!
Well, even without the shimmer  DavidsTea has us hooked on this one. What are your thoughts? Does the lack of sparkle get to you or are you in it for the flavour? We’d love to hear from you!
Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke

A refined tea for those with a sophisticated palate.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

