Day 4: Sweet Almond Green

Salut steepers,

Day 4, happy Friday! The rain continues as December trudges on, and we pull open drawer number 4 and find… our first green tea of the month! The leaves smell like play-doh to me… but maybe I’ve been cooped in the basement too long working on unit plans and have gone a bit off. Ah well- Here we go!

Tea: Sweet Almond Green

Sweet Almond Green

Description: Our favourite part of the holiday season? The treats, of course. And those little almond-scented cookies have an extra-special place in our hearts. Buttery and sweet, with the nutty crunch of an almond on top, they’re a dangerously delicious part of any festive cookie spread. But with a nutty kiss of almond and an organic base of green tea, this sweet and subtle tea is our guilt-free version of the classic treat. Because indulging yourself should have no strings attached.

Ingredients:  Green tea, almonds, marigold flowers, cornflower petals. With natural almond flavouring.

Stacey: I’ve been dying to drink this tea all morning while you were asleep on the other side of the country, you know. This has been a test of my willpower. The tea calls to me but I’m not supposed to drink it until we Skype. It’s such a tease.
Brooke: I’m sorry!! This smells like play-doh.
Stacey: What the- I smell almond, with a little bit of fruit. Can I have it now?

*sip*

Brooke: Hm.
Stacey: …Fruity Almond- just like it smelled! Yum!
Brooke: Hm. It just… kind of tastes like a green tea to me. I don’t taste much almond at all!
Stacey: I find you get it afterwords. You get the marzipan flavouring as it lingers. My Mom said it tasted like an almond cookie, she and my Dad liked this one!
Brooke: Hmm… not me! It’s like.. green tea play-doh. Andre agrees but also says it tastes a little medicinal.
Stacey: I don’t get that at ALL! What?!
Brooke: I thought there were fruit pieces in this, but it’s just almond! I’m so confused this morning.
Stacey: Oh, let’s do some hypothetical questions. When would you drink this tea?
Brooke: I wouldn’t. I don’t really like it.
Stacey: Well that answers that.
Brooke: What about you?
Stacey: This one would also be a good iced tea, with a bit of honey in it or something. I’d have this with a marzipan croissant.
Brooke: I would LOVE a croissant right now. Like with cream in it.
Stacey: Sigh.

Final thoughts:

Stacey: You know, I think we need to take what our friend Spencer said a few years ago and really run with it- we need to let these teas cool down before we really can taste all the fantastic flavours. I found that certain sips have more almond flavour than others- it switched between tasting more green, then more almond, then both. I don’t think I’ll have it again, because it’s not that special to me, but I am enjoying it.

Brooke: It kind of makes me feel nauseous. I don’t think I will have any more. I am a grump today.

WHAT A WILD RIDE- two totally different takes on Day 4. Twitter was less divided:

Day 4 of @DAVIDsTEA#24daysoftea is Sweet Almond Green. One of my favourites so…Yay!! 🙂
#24daysoftea oh my god, today’s sweet almond green tastes like marzipan! I’m in love!
Looks like I need to get my taste buds checked, as I’m the only one who really thought this was like play-doh. Don’t mind me, folks.
What did you think?
Until next tea!
Brooke and Stacey
maxresdefault

This is what my mouth feels like. It is weird.

 

Leave a Reply

