Day 2: Mango Madness

Hey tea drinkers!

Stacey here to bring you on day #2 of our 24 day tea journey! Today Brooke and I were able to Skype over my lunch break allowing Brooke to wake up at more decent hour.  And with Ottawa being pretty dreary and Victoria being its rainy self, today’s tea was the perfect fit to add a little sunshine to our day.

Tea: Mango Madness

Mango Madness

Description: One sip of this tea and you’ll do anything to get your hands on more. In fact, we’re a bit worried about letting people get a taste. There might be riots. Looting. Traffic jams. It’s a lot of responsibility! But who can blame you for going crazy over this delicious white tea? It’s fruity. It’s refreshing. It tastes just like a ripe piece of mango. In short, it’s total madness.

Ingredients: Apple, white tea, candied pineapple (pineapple, cane sugar, citric acid, sulphur dioxide), orange pieces and peel, safflowers, strawberries, calendula petals, mango (mango, sugar, citric acid, sulphur dioxide), stevia extract and natural mango flavouring.

Brooke: Does this tea have apple in it? (Looks back to find our previous post from 2013) Ah yes, I only had a sip of this last time because I worried about my apple allergy.
Stacey: Do you want to risk it this year?
Brooke: Yeah, let’s do it! André is here if I need to go to the hospital.
Stacey: Can you drink it yet or is it too hot?
Brooke: I think we can drink it, here we go!

*sip*

Brooke: ARGH my throat!!… Oh actually , it’s quite smooth!
Stacey: Mmm, I think it has a lot of flavour but it is also very soft and delicate.
Brooke: This tea would make a good iced tea, but not in the same way sleigh ride would because this one is delicious and sleigh ride was not!
André: I agree. I think white teas make great iced teas, especially with coconut. This one tastes like coconut.
Stacey: It tastes very tropical. When I was talking to my Mom earlier it made her think of relaxing on an island.
Brooke: I love that your mom is playing along with us, too! Tropical may be too strong of a word, but it does calm me down and soothe me.
André: Hmm…You do taste the mango but it’s not overpowering. Very mellow.
Stacey: Do you taste a sweetness at the end of this?
Brooke: I wouldn’t have overtly noticed it, no.
Stacey: I didn’t either until the last sip….just as I suspected- they put stevia in it!
Brooke: It wasn’t in the old version of mango madness, I wonder why DavidsTea added it?
André: Now that you mention it, I do notice it is sweeter than it should be.
Stacey: Oh no, now all I taste it the stevia. It might be because my tea is cooler now, it wasn’t as obvious when it was warmer.
Brooke: Well, at least my throat hasn’t closed up!

 

Final thoughts:

Brooke: I really like how soft of a this tea is. It’s not harsh or too sweet, just a delicate reminder of the warmer days that once were.
Stacey: Aren’t you still having warmer days in Victoria?
Brooke: Well certainly warmer than Ottawa but unfortunately we’re not tropical here.
Stacey: Mango Madness doesn’t really make me think of December but it does make me think of the tropics. Good choice for the second day of December with all this wet weather.
Brooke: It’s like DavidsTea knew it would be raining!

We checked in with fellow #24daysoftea followers on twitter to see what they had to say:

Seems like Mango Madness, brought a touch of the Caribbean to this gloomy day. What did you all think? Did the tea add some sunshine to your day or was it too sweet for your taste buds? Let us know on twitter or in the comments! We’d love to add a dialogue to the blog this year.

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke (and André)

Like the sun peaking though the clouds, Mango Madness might just brighten your day.

2 responses

  1. I really enjoyed the sweetness of this one. Again, like it better a little cooler, and while I didn’t think tropical thoughts at the time, I could be persuaded to do so after reading other cooments. Very nice choice for day #2.

Leave a Reply

