Day 24: Santa’s Secret

Merry Christmas Everyone!

It’s Christmas Eve and thus we get to sip on Santa’s Secret! This tea isn’t much of a secret anymore since we’ve had it on the 24th of December for three years in a row now (see here and here). But as much as we’ve been harping on DAVIDsTEA for using repeats in their 24 days, this is one tea that we were were glad to see return again this year. MmmMmm!

Tea: Santa’s Secret

Description: Ever wonder how Santa manages to deliver all those presents in just one night? Well here’s the hush-hush formula. He uses a special combination of black tea, peppermint and spices – all sprinkled with real little candy canes. It’s both energizing and remarkably soothing. All Santa needs is one cup and his motto changes from “ho ho ho” to “go go go”

Ingredients: Black tea, peppermint, sprinkles, natural and artificial flavouring (vanilla maybe?)

Steeping Instructions: 1.5 tsp, 96°C, 4-6 minutes

Before heading off to visit Brooke’s sister, Lisa, Brooke and her parents were able to sit down with Stacey for a little Skype session to review the tea:

Stacey: It’s supposed to be spiced black tea this year…that’s new.
Brooke: I can smell the peppermint, mmm!

*sip*

Stacey: I love this tea!
Brooke: Mom, what do you think?
Cathy: It’s too hot to drink!
Stewart: The first note is a hint of butterscotch.
Brooke: Hmm, but there’s no butterscotch in here. There is vanilla though…
Stewart: Yes, it must be the vanilla that I’m tasting.
Brooke: I really love that this tea has a black tea base because usually peppermint teas are quite strong. The black tea mellows this brew out though so that the candy cane doesn’t hit you in the face.
Stacey: Ha ha, candy cane hitting you in the face.
Stewart: *Bonk*
Brooke: “Santa, his abuse is no secret.”
Stacey: Do you get any of the spice?
Brooke: Not really, but the sprinkles are adorable!
Stacey: I could drink this all year round! So minty!
Brooke: That’s the beauty of this tea, the peppermint is in the background acting as a supporting character.
Stacey: Agreed!

With that, Brooke and her family were off to the airport, ready to spend a Christmas in North Carolina. A little later in the day, Stacey’s parents came home from work and were in the mood for a cup of something hot:

Ken and Lorie (simultaneously): We’re ready for tea!
Stacey: I’ve got just the one! And we can add it to the blog!
Ken: So as you know, I don’t usually don’t read your tea blogs but I did read one this year. I wanted to tell you there were so many spelling mistakes!
Lorie: They are supposed to be like that, it’s the voice type feature. It’s supposed to be funny!
Ken: Oh!

*sip*

Lorie: It’s very smooth tasting…like eggnog.
Stacey: But that was yesterday’s tea!
Ken: It tastes chocolate-y to me.
Lorie: It’s very relaxing for Christmas Eve, I’m glad I get to have it after a day at work.
Ken: I like it but it smells better than it tastes. It tastes like one tea that we’ve had before, maybe Read My Lips?
Lorie: Yes, this tea is making me feel very mellow.
Stacey: But now you’re supposed to be all “go-go-go”.
Lorie: No-no-no.

Tea Vibes:

Using the voice-type feature on our respective devices, we were able to provide our thoughts on today’s tea:

Stacey: I absolutely love this city! It’s so christmas to me and I love doing it every year. It’s just perfect! So tell me, I know that’s a lot but seriously can I test.

Brooke: This, he’s pretty good. I’m probably a favorite of the whole box! So we’re happy to have them overall. I think that the government gets to stay on the bench in this. To you and I think that’s great. Merry Christmas! No I don’t, N.

Well folks, that’s a wrap! Thank you so much for joining us on this wonderful tea tradition of ours. This year may very well have been the last 24 days of tea that we were able to spend in the same apartment, so it’s been extra special for us. Thanks again for following along and keep your eyes peeled for a few more special tea reviews in the New Year.  Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke

Sorry Santa, I think your secret’s out!

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Day 24: Santa’s Secret | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

