Day 16: Main Squeeze

Hi readers!

Stacey and I are apart again this morning but we still managed to have an eventful day together via text. I caused some trouble when I took the tin last night and got a confused text from Stacey early in the morning.

Stacey: The box was on the floor and I thought the tin had rolled away, I had no idea why it was gone! Then I thought I wouldn’t be able to have it… until I clued in.
Brooke: Morning adventures for Stacey!

I had taken the tea tin with me to Andre’s place knowing full well that we had a large stash of this one from Christmas past (thanks, Mom!). Stacey was able to have her brew on the way to work without any trouble.

Tea: Main Squeeze

Description: We all know the classic morning ritual: a cup of coffee and a glass of orange juice. But what if you could get your energy boost and fresh-squeezed fruity taste all in one cup? We’re serious. Shake up your old routine with this fruity maté blend, and you may never go back. It’s got the juicy flavour of orange, papaya and pineapple, plus the high-energy punch of green yerba maté. Just one sip and you’ll feel alert, refreshed and ready for anything. Say hello to your new main squeeze.

Ingredients: Green yerba maté, papaya, pineapple, safflower, natural flavouring

Instructions: 1.25 tsp, 80°C, 4-7 minutes

Over here, André and I were chatting about the lack of new teas in this year’s 24DaysofTea while he made us some pancakes (I am spoiled).

Brooke: There haven’t been many new teas so far in this year’s box, it’s kinda sad.
André: Yeah, but in a normal advent calendar, all you get is the same kind of boring chocolate!
Brooke: Oooh so true. This is much better!

*sip*

André: Hm. I’m not usually a fan of fruity teas but this one’s nice!
Brooke: Yeah, I liked this one so much last year that I asked for it for Christmas and so did my Dad! MmMmm.
André: It’s not as fruity as I was expecting it to be… You can taste the maté in it quite distinctly.
Brooke: Yeah, one reviewer on steepster said she tried to brew it cold but all she tasted was the maté so she had to throw it out.
André: That’s really unfortunate.
Brooke: Maté has quite a strong taste!
André: Uh oh, mine’s getting on the not-warm side. Wait, what’s in this again? Papaya? Mango?
Brooke: Papaya and pineapple!
André: Okay, I got one right. It just tastes tropical, like a vacation from winter!
Brooke: But not sour or too sweet, like other fruity teas we’ve had.
André: Nor tart like a lemon! This is smooth.

After settling into thesis writing, I thought I would check in with Stace to get her thoughts:

Brooke: How do you like the tea?
Stacey: Good, oddly tastes like warm orange juice though.
Brooke: I think it tastes like a pineapple.
Stacey: Yes, but a less sweet version. Like pineapple candy!
Brooke: PINEAPPLE CANDY! YES!

Stacey’s colleague Amélie also gave it a try and our friend MK wanted to provide her thoughts as well. Here’s what they had to say:

Amélie: It still tastes like thick water to me, but it’s one of the better tasting teas I’ve had. It kind of smells a bit gross though.
MK: Today’s tea is an orange covered in dirt. (We don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.)

Tea Vibes:

Stacey spoke some final thoughts for the two of us on her phone, and this is what it typed for us:

Brooke and Stacey: Too busy for tea bags today. Candy, but make some changes to pets in the advent calendar. Elan 10.

We hope you can make it to your own tropical paradise to escape the oncoming winter. If not, why not have some Main Squeeze to tide you over until you do?

Until next tea,
Brooke and Stacey

 

Leave a Reply

