Day 9: Genmaicha

Good morning readers!

It is a SNOWY one out there today, with Ottawa expected to get 15-25cm tomorrow. When we do winter, we go all out. Today Stacey had to rush off to work uber early, so I sauntered into the kitchen with the tea kettle nice and warm, which was a perfect temperature for today’s tea….

Tea: Genmaicha

Description: Some people call Genmaicha popcorn tea because it contains whole roasted grains of brown rice, some of which have popped. Others call it the Rice Krispie of green teas. Either way, genmaicha was originally drunk by poor Japanese who used the rice as a filler because they couldn’t afford enough tea leaves. It soon became all the rage. Today, everyone is addicted to its sweet, toasted rice flavour.

Ingredients: Steamed green tea from Japan, roasted and popped rice.

Instructions: 1.25 tsp, 3-4 min, 85°C.

Stacey and I have reviewed this puppy last year, and yet again, the steeping instructions have drastically changed! An extra quarter of a teaspoon, an extra minute and 11 degrees hotter than last year. How strange!

After thoroughly enjoying our teas on their own during the day, Stacey and I discussed our feelings while making a tasty gnocci dinner together.

Brooke: Ugh, I really do love this one. I was so hesitant when I smelled the popcorn, I mean rice, but when you steep a tea for so few minutes, the tastes stay like small hints in the back of your mind and you get to really mellow out.
Stacey: Yes, it’s so toasty. Is that the right word? I’m using it. It’s very earthy and lovely.
Brooke: We use lovely too much!
Stacey: Fine, not lovely, it’s just that after I finished my morning work there was still some left in my thermos and it made me very happy.
Brooke: Ah, much more descriptive! I said it last year and I’ll say it again- this is an every day tea. It’s delicious.
Stacey: Oh yeah, you have this anywhere, Brooke! Writing your thesis, collecting data, going for a walk. Anywhere! 
Brooke:
 I think it would make a good staple for us. The popped rice may turn some people off, so if a guest asked for green I say we hide it from them and then give them the finished product and they’ll never know. Unless they’re our friend Desiree, because she may think there’s popcorn.

Tea Vibes:

The voice-type feature on Stacey’s phone has basically figured me out, and my tea vibe seemed well translated as I spoke:

Brooke: Despite its movie-like flavours, because of the popcorn, aids mellow tones. Brings you to a state of calmness that I would like to achieve daily. 9 and 10. (When I saw how well things were translated, I boasted:) I talked to wellman.

Stacey’s was NOT as well translated and got WAY off topic:

Stacey: I am a really good change up from regular green tea. Add crazy flavours, yeah! It’s warm. Inviting. You wanna have sex at 9 and 10? I do not speak welsh. (Stacey: Well that doesn’t paint the best picture of me does it. *Sigh*)

Who would have thought a tea blog could ever be this fun? We hope you’re enjoying it as much as we are making it! We’ll see you right back here tomorrow for another tasty blend.

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stace

Making dinner, drinking tea, and playing video games together since ’07.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

