Day 4: Pink Flamigo

Another early morning, and the two roomies are having a quick breakfast and a hot tea to start their day.

Brooke: Day 4! Day 4! It’s all ready for you open, Stace!
Stacey: Yay!!! … …. ….Awwww, man. Pink Flamingo? But… that’s a summer tea.
Brooke: It’s true, Pink Flamingo was in the collection of iced tea Andy got me…
Stacey: But.. but.. aw. I didn’t want this. 

Tea: Pink Flamingo

Description: Ready for spring break? Try this sweet, citrusy cocktail of oranges, tangerines and lemongrass. It’s got hibiscus and beetroot to turn it a natural shade of hot pink, plus blackberry leaves for a sunny burst of Vitamin C, apple and carrot for extra sweetness, and eucalyptus leaves for kick. Sound irresistible? Try it iced. In a martini glass. With a splash each of cointreau and gin. And a paper umbrella. Caffeine-free.
Ingredients: Hibiscus blossoms, apple pieces, carrot flakes, blackberry leaves, eucalyptus leaves, lemongrass, beetroot pieces, freeze-dried tangerine/orange slices and artificial flavouring.
Steeping Instructions: 1.25 tsp, 96°C, 4-7 minutes

Brooke: See, it’s pink! Just like forever nuts!
Stacey: *grumble* It smells too sweet for me.
Brooke: Reading the description Pink Flamingo sounds like a V8… but in tea.
Stacey: YUP.
Brooke: Oh, Stacey is PISSED.
Stacey: I just wanted a nice, comforting black tea today. Oh shoot, I need to leave soon.
Brooke: Are you going to use that mug?
Stacey: Yeah, why?
Brooke: Because that mug looks dirtaaay!
Stacey: *sigh*

*sip*

Stacey: Oh! Hmm, is there lemon grass in here?
Brooke: Yep.
Stacey: I can taste that…Not as sweet as I thought it would be. But it’s not supposed to be a hot tea.
Brooke: Stace, it can’t NOT be a hot tea, that’s not how it works.
Stacey almost drops her mug, clearly losing it. 
Brooke: Well, so much for any of the other flavours they listed. LEMONGRASS FOREVER. Not bad, I’m just not feeling that flavour right now. I could try putting it into my smoothie later.

Unfortunately at this point Stacey had to leave for work.

Stacey: (while walking to the bus to work, thinking to herself) I know I was being a bit negative about this tea, but it was rather lovely on my walk to the bus. As the cold nipped my thighs (Brooke: jeez, a little much?), I would take a sip and be immediately transported to a beach. It could be just me but I thought the tea had quite powerful imagery. And it made my walk much more tolerable.

Tea Vibes

Brooke: This tea is weird and really shouldn’t be a 24 Days of Tea tea, it’s not really evoking the sense of coziness, more of sunburns and sore throats. Ice cubes ONLY, people! 6.5/10

Stacey had fun with her voice-type feature again and had this to say:

Stacey: No one excited for this day!! However it did grow on me and I enjoyed it on a walk to work and it is quite delicate I’d give it a 7 on 10.

Well, there you have it. Pink flamingos may have a spot on the cold icy roads of Ottawa in the eyes of Stacey. Brooke and her pal MK agreed that it tasted more like neocitrin, though. Bring on the throat lozenges!

Until next tea,
Brooke and Stacey

At least THEY’RE happy!

 

Leave a Reply

