Day 23: Gingerbread

Hello all!

Mom and I started on this tea a little too early and Stacey nearly burnt her tongue again, but we still managed to get this done together. Grab a cookie- this one will make you crave baked goods!

Tea: Gingerbread

Gingerbread from DAVIDsTEA

Description: The Spice of Life

For the past four years, all we wanted for Christmas was a gingerbread tea. Every winter, we’ve pestered David for a spicy-sweet, festive tea. But he just couldn’t find the perfect blend…until now. And with its warm, comforting aromas of ginger, cinnamon and molasses, this rich rooibos tea totally worth the wait. It has the most nostalgic aroma you can imagine – like gingerbread cookies baking in the oven. And the taste is everything we hoped for and more. Thank you David! Now…what will we ask for next year?

Ingredients: Rooibos, green rooibos, honeybush, cinnamon, currants, crystallized ginger, pineapple, safflower petals, natural and artificial flavouring.

Tea Instructions: 1.25 tsp, 96°C, 5-7 min

Brooke: Oooh this smells so good!
Cathy: What? Oh, I’ve been distracted. 

*Sip*

Cathy: Oh- that’s nice!
Brooke: Oooooh! Yum!
Cathy: Yeah, that’s pleasant! It’s not sweet but I suppose you don’t expect gingerbread to be sweet, do you?
Brooke: I wonder where Stacey is…
Cathy: I like it but I wish it was fuller. It’s a little thin. One and a quarter teaspoons might be not enough!
Brooke: Did I use her right skype name?
Cathy: I don’t know if I’m going to use that great big container that I got in a gift exchange because I don’t think this is my favourite. Where do you stand?
Brooke: I like the spicy-ness of it. The ginger is great!
Cathy: Oooh! Maybe I need to dunk a cookie into it! …Wow, these are hard gingersnaps. OH my.

-Stacey finally popped up on skype and joined in the conversation-

Stacey: Oooh! Are you already drinking it?? Mine’s too hot.
Brooke: Well, one thing led to another…
Cathy: Stacey, do not burn your tongue!
Stacey: Oooh that’s a lot of ginger! I think it tastes like gingerbread! They did a good job.
Cathy: Hmm, I don’t love it- I’m a bigger fan of some of the other ones.
Stacey: It’s spicy with a hint of sweet! Can definitely tell it’s a rooibos. It tastes like O’ Canada, to me. My Dad thought it smelled like curry. Am I allowed to have a cookie with this?
Brooke: Totally, we already did!
Stacey: I’m not allowed to have these cookies until Christmas…
Brooke: You thief!
Stacey: I just had a little one, it’s okay. So good, though! I really like it, it’s very nice. Very Chistmassy. The ginger is there but it’s subtle. I was very excited for it and it met my expectations. I’ll go ask Dad what he thinks!

Stacey: He just shrugged, and I stared at him, and he said “I’m not adding to your blog!”. Oh. 

Tea vibes:

Stacey: It’s light and the flavour of ginger isn’t harsh. I feel like I’m eating a cookie when I eat it- ooh if only I could put icing on it. Maybe make it into a latte! I like that it’s a rooibos so I can enjoy it in the evening. I would drink this again around Christmas time. I really like it! It’s great. 4.5/5

Brooke: The spicy hints of ginger compliment the rooibos very well. This is one that I would drink a few times a year if I was in the mood for a cookie and a tea before having lunch. Not too shabby! 3/5

My mom ran off to step class before I had the chance to ask about her thoughts, but it didn’t seem like she was too keen on having another cup. She had won a 100g tin of this tea at a recent Christmas Party and has offered to give it to us since we enjoyed it so much. Man, we are LOVING Davids tea this Christmas.

Just one more left, folks! Tune in tomorrow to join us for our final day of 24 Days of Tea!

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey (and Cathy but NOT Ken)

“You made gingerbread men? Cute!”

2 responses

Leave a Reply

