Day 22: Sleigh Ride

Hello wonderful tea drinkers!

Can you believe we are at Day 22? With Stacey and I at our respective homes, we are still putting in all our effort to taste, test, and review our 24 Days of Tea for you (and for us!). Today my Mom is out running errands so I sat down with my Dad to review the brew. Stacey and her Mom took a little tea break from baking and de-icing their driveway to sit down and have a mug. And we’re off!

Tea: Sleigh Ride

Sleigh Ride from DAVIDsTEA

Description: Giddy-up

Falling snow, popping chestnuts, cold hands and noses…yep, winter has arrived. But don’t worry, we have the perfect tea to warm you up all December long. Cinnamon, apples, raisins, almonds, and hibiscus combine for a tea that is sweet, tart, and earthy. And beet pieces make it as nice and rosy as a caroler’s cheeks. So hop in your sleigh, snuggle up, and pass a thermos around. It’s lovely weather for a Sleigh Ride together.

Ingredients: Apple, hibiscus blossoms, candied pineapple, candied papaya, beetroot, cinnamon, raisins, coconut, roasted almonds, popped rice, artificial flavouring.

Steeping Instructions: 2 tsp, 98°C, 5-7 min

In Bolton, Stacey and Lorie seemed impressed:

Lorie: It’s so red! Like a cranberry!
Stacey: Mmm, it smells really good!

Back in Halifax, there was a disagreement:

Brooke: Oh no, Sleigh ride!
Stewart: I remember this one from last year! I liked it.
Brooke: Well that makes one of us..

As I remembered my last experience drinking this with my sister Andrea, I recalled the bitter and tart tastes of beetroot and rice and how much I disliked its potency. This time, I steeped Dad’s with the regular instructions and then used the dredges of his cup to steep mine for only three minutes in the hopes that my tea would be a bit more dull than the last one. Mom pouted on the way out the door, saying she would probably have like this one very much.

*Sip* (Sip sip sip sip sip from Dad)

Brooke: How do you like it?
Stewart: Hmm..  It’s acidic, and I like acid in a tea.  You should test the pH. Acidic and astringent, is what I’m getting here. Is there cinnamon?
Brooke: Yes! Cinnamon, apple, hibiscus, papaya, pineapple- a whole assortment of flavours!
Stewart: Well, it’s a very expert blend because none of them overwhelms the other. There’s a slight predominance of cinnamon but it is very satisfying.  This would go well with fruit cake!

Dad prompty ran downstairs to grab a homemade slice from the fridge.

Brooke: WELL. You just put me out of a blog. That was such a delicate review. I find this dulled down version is just what I wanted! The acidity is probably what threw me off last year and it’s not as intense this way. Oh.. right. There are apples in here. I should probably only have a few sips any way. Oops!

Back in Bolton, Lorie was having NONE of it:

Stacey: I’m glad I didn’t steep mine as long, it’s so sweet still!
Lorie: …It tastes like cough medicine!  It smells really nice but the taste is just awful! I won’t be able to drink that one. Yuck!
Stacey: It tastes similar to apple cider or a sweeter version of Forever Nuts.
Lorie: Nope!
Stacey: I like it better than last time. Not sure how much of the sweetness I can take but it’s growing on me.
Lorie: Ick!
Stacey: What imagery does it make you think of Mom?
Lorie: Being in bed with a cold and being forced to drink cough syrup!
Stacey: Oh… well I think that’s enough of this one then.

Back in Halifax, we got distracted…

Stewart: Did you know cows don’t burp?
Brooke: Christmas at the Camerons!

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: It’s not my usual cup of tea but I think steeping it for a shorter amount of time helped tone it down a bit. There’s a lot of flavours that can make this tea quite intense. It’s funny that this is a holiday tea but it would make a good iced tea or juice. Still not something that I would recommend if you don’t like sweet teas. 2/5

Lorie: I didn’t care for this tea at all! 1/5

Brooke: I’m sorry DAVIDsTEA, but this one will never win me over. Its acidity and mix of flavours doesn’t suit my palette and I cringe after each sip unless I’ve dulled and diluted it down. Add in the fact that its main ingredient is an allergen of mine, and I’m spent. Will not drink again (even if it’s in next year’s set!). 1/5

Stewart: I like it a lot. It’s quite full bodied and satisfying. It’s a good herbal tea. You guys are tough critics! It’s well balanced and acidic- an expert blend! 3/5

This is how you know we aren’t biased and love everything, right? Whew! Some people just don’t like going on that sleigh ride, amirite? Oh boy. You know what IS tasty? Bridge Brewing Co. Beer. Thanks to my sister and brother-in-law for that brew. I WILL have another cup of that.

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey (and Stewart and Lorie)


*Not reflective of the tea’s actual taste. Which is gross. 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Day 22: Sleigh Ride | Tea Connoisseurs

  2. Pingback: Sleigh Ride | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

