Day 21: Chocolate Orange

Hello readers!

Today it’s a double review with my Mom, Lorie making a guest appearance and Brooke’s Mom and Dad, Cathy and Stewart, adding their thoughts in too. And with Brooke and I reviewing the tea at different times, things are getting a bit tricky with editing posts. Unbeknownst to me, I accidentally wrote over the post Brooke had written (oops!). Luckily, after some quick thinking on Brooke’s part and a few tense moments, the post was recovered. Thank goodness! So you should consider yourselves lucky that you get to enjoy the post that-almost-never-was…

Tea: Chocolate Orange

Chocolate Orange from DAVIDsTEA

Description: So Happy Together

Some things are just meant to go together. Cups and saucers. Cream and sugar. Tea and cookies. And chocolate and orange. It’s a harmonious combo alright – rich, sweet and decadently dark. And this delicious pu’erh blend has it all: big chocolate chips to satisfy your dessert craving and zesty orange peel for a touch of fruitiness and spice. It’s the kind of thing you could get used to. Which is good, because you and this tea are totally made for each other.

Ingredients: Pu’erh tea, chocolate, orange peel, natural and artificial flavouring.

Steeping Preperation: 1.25 tsp, 98°C, 4-6 min

Cathy: Hmm, I guess I can smell the chocolate. I do not smell the orange but it smells very welcoming and comfortable.
Brooke: Yeah, for the first time the smell isn’t knocking me over. It’s very subtle. I wonder that means for the taste…

Back in Bolton:

Lorie: It smells like some sort of hand lotion.
Stacey: Oh shoot, I dropped some tea leaves on the floor.
Lorie: You better pick it up before Titan eats it.
Stacey: It looks like mouse poop.
Lorie: Don’t even go there Stacey!

*sip*

Lorie: Oh, it has a smooth taste. But no chocolate yet. Or orange.
Stacey: …What does it taste like then?
Lorie: Okay, a tad bit of chocolate.
Stacey: It’s very dark in the cup…kind of looks like beer.
Lorie: Mine looks like coffee. But it doesn’t have an after-taste like coffee. It’s not very harsh on the palate at all.
Stacey: I taste more orange then chocolate. It almost has a tropical note to it…maybe that’s just the citrus.

Back in Halifax:

Brooke: Oh! I like the taste! The orange is peeeerfect in there.
Cathy: You taste the orange? It’s lost on me.
Stewart: Hm! It’s sweet.
Cathy: Do you throw a fit?
Stewart: No, a cow.
Brooke: Parents, can we put down the crossword for a SECOND?

Cathy: It’s lighter, it’s not as satisfying as the others.
Stewart: What kind of tea is it?
Brooke: Pur’eh. It’s a dark tea from China.
Stewart: Hm, I like it! I like dark teas.
Cathy: And I don’t, I think that’s why I’m not as impressed.
Brooke: It’s too sweet for me, too chocolatey. I’m still full from my ice cream cake dessert, though…

Cathy: Where vaults can be seen… well…
Stewart: 4 down is wrong!
Brooke: Well this is going just peachy.

Tea vibes:

Lorie: This is a nice, mellow, smooth tea with just a hint of chocolate and an aftertaste of orange. It pairs well with being cozy inside while it’s freezing rain outside. It’s also a nice wind-down tea after a day of baking and christmas preparations. I enjoyed it very much. 4.5/5

Stacey: I recommend drinking this tea after it’s cooled down a bit. The chocolate flavour really comes through and mixes well with the orange. I don’t think it tastes like a chocolate orange but it’s still quite nice. Not too sweet either! A lovely tea to sip on with Christmas music playing in the background. 4.25/5

Stewart: I like this tea. I like the complexity of the fermented black leaves and the tones. I wondered if the flavour would change over time but for a small cup of tea, it’s just dandy! 3.5/5

Brooke: I think it’s just not what I was in the mood for after eating dessert. It IS a dessert, so  the chocolate and orange were too much for me. If I was in a different mood, I bet I would really like it. 3/5

Cathy: Zzzz

Well, that’s day 21 in the books! 3 more days to go people! I’m hoping that I’ll be able to review a tea with Brooke tomorrow, but apparently we are in for quite the ice storm. Newscasters are even comparing it to the ice storm of ’98, yikes! I better go wrap my Christmas presents while we still have power!

Until next tea,
Stacey (and Lorie) and Brooke (and Cathy and Stewart)


I’m not losing you again. You’re going to stay right here with me.

Leave a Reply

