Day 18: Buddha’s Blend

Hi readers!

Well it’s a stormy one out there in Halifax. My flight was turbulent as I made my way home for the holidays, so a good warm tea after picking up our Christmas tree was JUST what the momma and daughter duo ordered. Mugs up and zen out to Buddha’s Blend, friends!

Tea: Buddha’s Blend

Buddha's Blend from DAVIDsTEA

Description: Heaven Can’t Wait

We don’t like to brag, but we’re pretty sure we just found the key to achieving nirvana. It’s easier than you might think – you’re actually just a cup away. You start with a fresh, delicate mix of white and green tea. Then you sprinkle in a few jasmine pearls for their sweet, floral perfume. Next, you add the unexpected fruity aroma of some beautiful white hibiscus blossoms. Finally? You sit back, relax and take a sip. Heavenly…

Ingredients: White tea, green tea, jasmine pearls, white hibiscus blossoms, articifial flavouring.

Instructions: 1 tsp, 82°C, 3-4 min

Mom was worried she wouldn’t make a good substitute for Stace.

Cathy: Okay, I’m not Stacey. I’m not Stacey, I’m not a tea maaker… dee dee deeee!

Brooke: Did you just sing that last part?

CathyI’m prone to siiinging… unexpected tea songs! Deee dum dum.

Brooke: It’s good to be home.

Cathy: You said this has jasmine in it like that green tea? Doesn’t smell nearly as grassy. Smells good!

*sip*

Brooke: Did you just take a sip?

Cathy: I did.

Brooke: And?

Cathy: … I didn’t have a thought!

Brooke: Hm.

Cathy: Okay, let’s see. It’s more about the smell, I think. It’s pleasant, it’s not sour. I don’t know the real difference between white and green tea, I just like herbals, that’s what this reminds me of. I don’t particularly like black teas, you see. I want to know what you think now!

Brooke: I really taste the base leaves more than the extra flavours… I taste the green tea leaves and not so much the jasmine. It seems… just a bit dull!

Cathy:  You are so refined! I like it and I will drink it. It isn’t a crazy tea. Although, I do like that you can smell it and taste it and get lots from it at the same time.

Brooke: Yeah, and the dullness is kind of good- you don’t want the flavours to overpower you with a ‘zen’ tea after all.

Cathy: Yeah, it’s relaxing!

Brooke: White teas are steeped for less time, too, compared to black due to the leaves being so delicate. That may be it.

Cathy: Wow, Superstore is selling lobster for $5.88/lb!

Brooke: Soo pleased to be home. Seriously.

Tea vibes:

Cathy: I don’t know Brookie, I like this tea! It tastes just as good as it cools. 3.5/5

Brooke: This as an odd fruity hint from the hibiscus that I really enjoy, though I do think for a ‘flashy’ DAVIDsTEA, it’s not my favourite. It certainly zen’d me out as I watched little birdies dancing on the snow covered trees outside (oh, so poetic). It was nice, but since white teas are expensive and it didn’t thrill me, I wouldn’t need to buy it. Loved sharing it my ma, though! : ) 3.5/5

No Stace in this one, but she’ll be back tomorrow for a google chat. For now, we will continue to zen out (but might switch to rum and eggnog…)

Until next tea,

Brooke (and Cathy)

“He had a broad face and a little round belly,
That shook, when he laughed like a bowlful of jelly.”

One response

  1. Pingback: Day 15: Buddha’s Blend | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

