Day 17: Cream of Earl Grey

Good morning readers!

It’s a cold one out there yet again! I don’t know about you, but I would have loved to spend the day to curled up indoors with a good book and a cup of cream of earl grey tea. Instead I had to take ice off my eye lashes…we can dream right?

Tea: Cream of Earl Grey

Cream of Earl Grey (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Description: A Creamy Twist

Lovers of Earl Grey adore this creamy alternative to the original blend. You’ll recognize the same high-quality black tea, the same citrus burst of bergamot oil, the same beautiful grey-blue petals. However this version adds a touch of vanilla, and the result is an unexpectedly rich, creamy taste experience.

Ingredients: Organic: Black tea, cornflowers. With natural vanilla and bergamot flavouring.

Steeping Prep: 1.25 tsp, 98°C, 3-5 min

André joined us again for another three-way review. We all held onto our mugs for dear life as they warmed up our hands.

André: Mmm, smells great! I love Earl Grey, but I’ve never tried Cream of Earl Grey.
Stacey: Based on the ingredients I think the only difference is that they add vanilla.
André: So it will be like a London Fog?
Stacey: That’s what I thought too last time we tried it.
Brooke: GAH why isn’t there a proper tune to this song?! “No Woman No Cry…”
Stacey and André:

*sip*

Stacey: Mmm, it tastes creamier than I remember.
Brooke: Yep, putting milk into it.
André: I love it already! I like that it’s like their Earl Grey but a little less intense.
Brooke: Oh, much better.
André: Oh boy! I like it. I really like it!
Brooke: The milk just got rid of the bitterness. I wasn’t in the mood for the bitterness today, I’m already bitter.
Stacey and André: …
Brooke: If you could think of a location that this tea reminds you of, what would it be?
André: Late nights working at cafés. Also Picard. “Tea, Earl Grey. Hot.”
Stacey: My Nana’s apartment. She had a lot of cool old furniture and trinkets. And my Mom always talked about how they would always drink tea together. I just feel like she would have really enjoyed this tea.
Brooke: Aw, that’s nice. I think of a fancy hotel, like Lord Elgin. Sitting on cream coloured cushions listening to a piano player.
André: What would the piano player be playing?
Brooke: Hmm, a nice waltz.
Stacey: That sounds like a lovely image.
Brooke: Nooo woman no cry.. 

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: This tea is light and airy and doesn’t bog you down like a regular Earl Grey might. The hint of vanilla is quite lovely and comforting. Not quite a London Fog but a lot less sugar too. 4/5.

Brooke: This is not your usual Earl Grey; the vanilla tones make it a much more sophisticated drink. It’s sweet but not sugary. It’s flavourful but not overpowering. The milk did help mute the bitterness of the black tea though, so I would suggest adding it to your cup. I wouldn’t drink it every day but it did make me feel fancy, and everyone needs to feel fancy every once in a while. 3/5

André: I find that it’s a lot sweeter when I smell it than when I drink it. And it’s lighter than a regular Earl Grey, which is perfect when you are looking for an alternative to the heaviness of a black tea. It would be a nice well balanced afternoon tea. 3.5/5

Another tea down, only a few more to go! With Brooke heading home tomorrow and me leaving on Friday we will try out best to get out our daily tea blogs.  With the help of skype, google chats, and our families, we’ll do it (just for you)! Wish us luck!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke


 This one’s mostly for Brooke.

 
One response

  1. Pingback: Day 19: Cream of Earl Grey | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

