Day 14: Cinnamon Rooibos Chai

Hi readers!

Stacey is bustling away in the kitchen making snowcap cookies for yet another potluck and I’m writing up a paper on microRNA, but we know the drill! Today, we bring you a spicy yet sweet Cinnamon Rooibos Chai!

Tea: Cinnamon Rooibos Chai

Cinnamon Rooibos Chai (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Description: Stay Focused

Cinnamon is so much more than just the tastiest spice around. According to aromatherapy principles, it supposedly enhances your ability to concentrate. Plus it has a clean and refreshing taste your breath will thank you for. Your new favourite beverage also contains South African rooibos, Zanzibar cloves and citrus oil. Delicious.

Ingredients: Red Rooibos, orange peel, cinnamon, cloves, natural honey and cinnamon flavouring.

Instructions: 1.5 tsp, 98°C, 4-7 min

 Stacey: Hmm.. This cinnamon smell is scary!
Brooke: What if it tastes like hot lips?

*Sip*
Stacey: Noope! Oh, no! Too sweet!
Brooke: It’s not that bad!
Stacey: I dont’t want anymore!
Brooke: You have to try, Stace!
Stacey: Too sweet!
Brooke: You already SAID that!
Stacey: I dare someone who needs to put sugar in their tea every time to put sugar in this. Oh God.
Brooke: Oh my.
Stacey: Once you get over that, though, it’s a nice hit of cinnamon! It just tickles the tip of my tongue!
Brooke: You’re right, though. This sweet isn’t fruity sweet- it’s just so.. sugary! Like they dumped a few tablespoons into my cup!
Stacey: Yeah, wow. I can’t even really get the orange and clove because of it. I don’t want to discount it as a bad tea… because it isn’t. I just don’t particularly like sweet teas.
Brooke: Yeah, you were never a fan of adding milk or sugar to your teas. I don’t think I the like sweetness  either. Mom, though, would love it, I bet.
Stacey: My Dad would also love it. He would probably add more sugar. Guaranteed.

Brooke: You should dare him.

Tea vibes:

Brooke: Normally rooibos teas are earthy but this is the first time I’ve had a sweet one. If you try to ignore the slap of sweet- this tea has some great hints of cinammon and clove that are deliciously spicy. Unfortunately they do get masked by the overwheling feeling of drinking a latte or something similar.  I don’t think I’ll have it again! 2.5/5

Stacey: This tea doesn’t taste artificially sweet- it feels more natural. I wish there was more cinnamon. It’s not really a tea for me but I do know a lot of people who LOVE this tea so if you like sweet sugary teas- give it a try. 2/5

Oops! Apparently we prefer spicy to sweet and this one had too much sugar for our tastebuds. But don’t be discouraged by our numbers, folks. We’re just two roomies having a tea, after all! ; )

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey

Just a little bit…
One response

  1. Pingback: Day 9: Cinnamon Rooibos Chai | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

