Day 11: Mother’s Little Helper

Hi readers!

Happy Day #11 of 24 Days of Tea! My mother was visiting recently and when we decided to review a tea together; when we pulled this one out- it was perfect! We had just made an asparagus and potato salad and I was a little helper in the kitchen while she did all the hard stuff. Heeeere we go! : )

Tea: Mother’s Little Helper

Mother's Little Helper (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Description: The Great Escape

Need a little relaxation? Try running for the shelter of this mother’s little helper. It’s got organic valerian (aka “nature’s Valium”) to take the edge off your 24/7 reality. Plus there’s chamomile, peppermint and lemongrass for an added dose of tranquility. And pretty blue cornflowers just to make you happy. One sip and you’ll feel like you’ve spent the day at a spa.

Tea ingredients: Organic: peppermint, lemongrass, rosehips, Fair Trade Certified hibiscus, chamomile flowers, valerian root, cornflowers. With natural peppermint flavouring.

Tea Instructions: 1.5 tsp, 98°C, 4-7 min.

Stacey: Oh no! There’s chamomile? I shouldn’t drink it. I will sniff it.

Brooke: This smell reminds me a lot of their Detox tea, the hibiscus and lemongrass scents especially.

Stacey: *sniff* It has a VERY big floral scent, because of the ragweed, I mean…chamomile.

Brooke: Mom, what do you think it smells like?

Cathy: …Socks?

Brooke: Oh!

Cathy: It’s not like Jingle Bells with all that other stuff..

Brooke: She means White Chocolate Frost

Cathy: Why do I come for a visit just to be teased?

Brooke: Don’t worry Mom, we’re just laughing AT you!

Cathy: Oh, good.

Stacey: It’s kind of like a weird pink… yellowy.. Am I allowed to say pukey colour?

Brooke: This is boding well…

*sip*

Cathy: Oh, you know, it tastes much better than it smells! I like the peppermint. It’s not bad- I don’t feel the need to sweeten it.

Brooke: Oh wow, yes, this IS good! Not as harsh as Detox.

Cathy: It still SMELLS like socks, though. Maybe lemongrass to me smells like socks?

Brooke: I like the lemon and mint mix, it’s so soft.

Cathy: Is that white thing on the floor a skull?

Brooke: We’re still transitioning from Halloween!

Cathy: So that’s why the scarecrow has a Santa hat on?

Stacey: It’s a work in progress.

Tea vibes:

Cathy: I like a tea that I don’t have to add anything extra to prepare it. I will definitely drink it again- the peppermint is fun! I’m going to lay down for a nap… 4/5

Brooke: The peppermint is so nice and airy! The chamomile is soothing and the flavours didn’t assault my senses. Don’t be turned off by the smell (of socks?), just dip in and enjoy! 4/5

Stacey: *Achoo!*

Cathy: Zzzzzz.

Shhh! Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey (and Cathy)

Sleeping after steeping.

Leave a Reply

