Day 10: Coffee Cake

Hi readers!

So, as I was putting on the kettle and prepping our teas this afternoon, Stacey called me on her way home from work wanting to know what tea it was today. Much to her dismay, I kept her in the dark as the teas were steeping. When she finally came in and smelled the apartment, she was thrilled! Then she was worried at how delicious the smell was… Would this tea be up to snuff with such anticipation?

Tea: Coffee Cake

Coffee Cake from DAVIDsTEA

Tea Description: Take the Cake

There’s nothing more nostalgic than a classic coffee cake. Just picture it. That dense, yellow cake, dotted with fruit and topped with crumbled brown sugar. And this sweet, fragrant black tea blend is every bit as satisfying. It has all the aroma of a fresh baked coffee cake, plus an energy boost from rich black tea and a fruity hint of cherry and pineapple. Now getting that fresh-from-the-bakery taste is so simple, it’s a piece of cake. Limited edition.

Tea Ingredients: Black tea, cherries, pineapple, natural and artificial cake flavouring

Tea Instructions: 1.25 tsp, 96°C, 4-5 min

Stacey: Ohh this smell is worrying, what if it’s too sweet?

Brooke: Well there’s no added sugar! Just cherries and pineapple!

Stacey: Isn’t that a bit odd? I don’t think fruit when I think coffee- I think maple or marble. Something that’s a dark cake, not a fruit cake. This combination isn’t what I pictured! Does this smell like something to you? Another tea we’ve had?

Brooke: Yes, it does remind me of one of them. Something with caramel.

Stacey: Salted caramel, yes!

Brooke: Wonder how the tastes will compare…

*sip*

Stacey: Oh! *Sip* Oh! Mmm. *Sip* You can taste that fruity dense-ness. Like a fruity cake. I can taste it! It’s a heavier blend. Oh yum!

Brooke: Mmm- ooh yes. Very tolerable as a black tea- not too bitter at all.

Stacey: As I sip it I can smell the fruity taste and it’s not sweet… just… satisfying!

Brooke: Yeah, not pungent like the kiwi or rhubarb teas we’ve had. Just a soft subtle hint.

Stacey: Yeah, I really like this one!

Brooke: I think we should buy this.

Stacey: I agree.

Brooke: But it’s limited edition!

Stacey: Aw, only the best teas come out at Christmas!

Brooke: Seriously, I am gulping this down- it’s delicious!

Stacey: I think it’s the first time our hopes have been high and our expectations were met, if not exceeded.

Brooke: Though you were a little worried.

Stacey: That’s because my expectations are always so strong and then they get shattered.

Brooke: …Shattered?

Stacey: Well, okay, it’s just that the smell seems to ALWAYS be better than the taste. This, though, oh… Oh man.

Brooke: It’s that odd caramel taste that gets me. Yum!

Stacey: Maybe it’s the brown sugar they talk about…

Brooke: …That isn’t in the tea.

Stacey: Placebo effect? It does taste a LOT like salted caramel, though.

Brooke: I LOVE it! Pour me another cup!

Tea vibes:

Stacey: This is a great after-lunch tea. Not quite a breakfast tea, it seems like it would round your day out nicely instead. I really enjoy the heavy hints of fruit that don’t add any sweet or tartness to it. A definite favourite 5/5

Brooke: This is absolutely hands down my favourite tea we’ve tried since starting 24 Days of Tea last year. The fruits keep this tea light without overwhelming our sense with floral tones. The coffee flavour isn’t big like in mocha rooibos, either, it’s hardly there at all. This is a fantastic tea, and I would highly recommend! Mmm Mmm! 5/5

Well, there we are! Our first tea we both rated 5/5 since starting this blog in December 2012! Quite the compliment, DAVIDsTEA! Take note! No needed extra sugars or special smells to win us over- whew!

Until next tea (how can they top this?!),

Brooke and Stacey

Stacey…. we may need a bigger tea pot…

Leave a Reply

