Day 9: Silk Dragon Jasmine

Happy Monday Tea Lovers!

It’s a snowy one out there here in Ottawa, so why not join us for a cup of tea? Today we’re joined by André and Brooke’s Mom, Cathy, who is visiting from Halifax. We’ll be sipping on Silk Dragon Jasmine, which might just transport us somewhere warm and flowery–perfect for today’s weather!

Tea: Silk Dragon Jasmine

silk jasmine

Description: A Magical Scent

Made from premium green tea, our Silk Dragon is a limited-edition treasure. To create it, night-blooming jasmine is gathered in the morning and kept cool all day. In the evening, when the flowers burst open and release their scent, they are placed with the tea until midnight. This is repeated with fresh flowers over the course of five nights, infusing the tea with a most magical flavour.

Ingredients: Organic Chinese green tea from Jianxi Province, naturally scented with jasmine flowers.

Steeping Instructions: Steep 1 tsp per cup of 82°C water for 2-4 min

Stacey: Oooh! It smells like jasmine!
Cathy: Oh that’s a familiar smell.
André: It smells like a summer meadow!
Cathy: YES!
Brooke: It smells like lupins.
Stacey: What are lupins?
Cathy: It reminds me of a cologne that I used to like when I was younger…97-11. Let me look it up.
André: Can we taste it now or are we all still smelling it?
Cathy: FORTY SEVEN ELEVEN!

*Sip*

Cathy: It does have those flowery tastes in there doesn’t it? Hmm not bad, I would drink that again.
André: This would be a summer tea for me.
Brooke: It would be an old lady tea for me.
Cathy: Do you like it?
Brooke: I don’t not like it. But I feel like I’m drinking perfume.
André: I still get the earthy tones to it. But it still tastes floral.
Cathy: It’s really got a strong fragrance…back to the meadow!
Brooke: There is a bit of bitterness to it. It might have been steeped too long.
Cathy: It might be nice chilled.
Stacey: I haven’t said anything yet. It’s a nice twist on a regular green tea…I like it!

Tea Vibes:

Cathy: I’m consistently shocked when I smell it, because it doesn’t smell like tea to me. It’s so floral that it makes it a different beverage somehow. But I like it. 3.5/5
André: I really like it. It’s a very nice and light tea. It has a strong fragrance but it has a light taste to it. When I need something in the summer this would be the tea for me! 3.5/5
Stacey: I find that you can either be a lover or hater of jasmine, so depending on which camp you’re in you will find this tea delicious or decide to give it a pass. Either way, it’s something interesting to try. 3.5/5
Brooke: Hooray! 3/5

Happy December 9th everyone! And be careful on those roads out there for all of our friends in Ottawa!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke


I’d frolic through that any day.
One response

  1. Pingback: Day 18: Silk Dragon Jasmine | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

