Day 7: Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait

Hey-ho readers!

Well, here we are again and after a non-stop day of physical activity research, seminars, and improv we are both exhausted and ready to call it a night. But wait, it’s day 7 and the show must go on! Good thing it’s a herbal!

Tea: Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait

Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait from DAVIDsTEA

Description: Picture Parfait

The ancient Chinese used it in medicine. The medieval Europeans traded for it along the Silk Road. And today we love it in pies, sauces, muffins or just plain, dipped in a little sugar. But the best way to eat rhubarb is with sweet, ripe strawberries. Like in this refreshingly fruity, deep red tisane. It tastes as bright and juicy as a fresh-picked berry, with a tart rhubarb punch and a subtle hint of yogurt creaminess. We love it hot or iced, or as the base for sweet, zippy sangria. Now that’s a beautiful thing. Caffeine-free.

Ingredients: Apple, hibiscus, raisins, carrot, yogurt bits, beetroot, strawberry, rhubarb, artificial flavouring.

Steeping instructions: Place 1.5 tsp into a cup and steep for 5-7 min at a cool 98°C

Stacey: Ow, that’s hot! I hate this infuser! There’s no good place to hold it. Oooh, that’s a deep purple colour isn’t it?
Brooke:  Mhmm. It smells florally and sour, but the colour is making me edgy. There are no apples in here are there?
Stacey: *Laughs*…Apples are the first ingredient.
Brooke: You know what, apple is in friggin’ Alpine Punch so I’m drinking it but I’ll only have a third of a cup. DAVIDsTEA really wants to kills me! It does smell very nice though.
Stacey: Yeah, like a strawberry rhubarb pie.

While we waited for our teas to cool Brooke and I chatted about our respective days annnnnd…Brooke managed to spill hot tea on her leg.

Brooke: BLARGH!
Stacey
: Oh no, are you okay? This tea wants to hurt us!
Brooke: You really over poured this, but what I mean is both of us together. Ah! This is awful, it’s still spilling. AH!

*Sip*

Stacey: Oooh. Yeah, that’s sweet. And sour.
Brooke: Yeah, I knew it would be sour. Gasp! Oh I like it! It’s creamy, it’s so soft. I don’t taste the sweetness that you mentioned.
Stacey: Maybe I just meant the sour…I’m not sure now! I think it cuts out the tartness quite nicely before it gets too much.
Brooke: It’s not bitter, but it’s got a very soft beginning and sharp end. Again, this would be a treat after dinner. It would not be something that I’d sip on as I work or something.
Stacey: I agree. Would it be weird to say that you could pair this with ice cream?
Brooke: Nope.
Stacey: I think what I meant about the sweetness is that it was a flavour wasn’t something I wasn’t expecting, it just kind of hits you.
Brooke: I don’t taste apple at all. I don’t know why they put apple in everything, gosh darnit! Hmm, the smell doesn’t equal the taste. The smell is quite big but the taste is nice and soft. Mmm.
Stacey: I really want ice cream now.
Brooke: We have it.
Stacey: Do we? Nice!

Tea vibes:

Brooke: Don’t let your nose fool you, this tea is smooth and sweet. Even half a cup could fill you up. Though the fruity tones are mild, the rhubarb shines through nicely. I like it! 3.5/5.

Stacey: Just the perfect amount of tart and sourness. It’s great as a hot tea with some dessert, but I’d say you could probably enjoy this as a cold tea too. This would be the perfect holiday potluck tea, hot or cold! 3.5/5

Mmm what a tasty, delicious treat! Just be careful when you enjoy–it’s hot!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke

“I’ll warm you right up” 

Leave a Reply

