Day 5: Stormy Night

Hey readers! Day 5 comes to you in true Brooke and Stacey fashion:

After a busy day and two hours in a cold hockey rink, I came home to find Brooke chatting on the phone. As not to disturb I mimed drinking tea, to which she gave me the nod. After her call, she hurried out to see what was behind door #5. And what do we have? Stormy Night! Ohh boy!

Tea: Stormy Night

Stormy Night (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Tea Description: As good as it gets

It was three o’clock in the afternoon on a rainy Friday. David was hungry. He needed a nap, a shave, and a hot meal. What he had was a kettle, a pack of matches, and a bag of black tea. So he grabbed some ingredients and threw them in the water. Chocolate, cinnamon, coconut, vanilla – this drink was a real piece of work. He lifted his cup, took a drink and then another. It was hotter than an inferno and smoother than silk. It was good. Almost too good.

Ingredients: Ingredients: Organic: Black tea, chocolate, cinnamon, coconut, vanilla. With natural vanilla flavouring*.

Steeping steps: 4-6 minutes, 1.25 tsp, piping hot water

Tea is prepped, and our apartment is still making the transition from Fall to Winter. Our little scarecrow by the front door now sports a Santa cap and the wreath of fall leaves and berries now has a gingerbread candle in its middle. We’re well on our way.

Brooke: Ooh I love the smell of the spices in this one!
Stacey: Mhm! I like that it’s just simple! Chocolate, cinnamon, vanilla, and coconut. That’s all you need. I like that the cinnamon floats on top, too.
Brooke: Yeah, no infuser could catch all the ground cinnamon in this mix.
Stacey: *sigh*
Brooke: ?
Stacey: I just was thinking of how nice this is to do. And I want my hands and feet to be warm. Maybe I’ll go put on comfy socks. (And I also came back with a big woolly blanket. Bad idea…definitely gave myself a big shock when I turned on the TV)
Stacey: Damn these socks! I can’t decide what I like about this tea so much! Is it the chocolate? The cinnamon? I love it all!  And it’s kind of a good alternative to hot chocolate, too.
Brooke: It’s not rich like chocolate, you don’t get weighed down like you would with a mocha or a hot chocolate. Its cinnamon flavour also keeps it rather light.
Stacey: And it’s doing wonders to warm me up.
Brooke: Not those staticky socks?
Stacey: It’s a combination! Ooh let’s have some Christmas songs. Also, this would be perfect for the canal. And hey, if the weather keeps up we’ll be on it sooner than you think!
Brooke: Yep, wow, this tea is such a keeper. I’m glad we have more of it in our kitchen.

Tea vibes:

Stacey: It’s one of my favourites from DavidsTea, it gets a 4.5/5. You can get your chocolate fix without the sugar.

Brooke: I agree, roomie. A touch of cinnamon and soft hints of coconut, this is such a delicate and yet filling brew. 4/5

Sometimes it’s the simple things that are truly the best. Stormy Night is one of those things. Oh. and chatting over tea with your roommate, of course.

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke


Beware the static shock!

Leave a Reply

