Day 3: Blueberry Jam

Hello dear readers!

We are on to day #3 of our 24 days of tea adventure! Whoo hoo! We hope that you are enjoying following along with us again this year, because we are certainly enjoying all this tea drinking and reviewing. Seriously, have I mentioned how much I missed you? Because it was A LOT. And I also missed my tea time with Brooke…but shh, don’t tell her. On ward!

Blueberry Jam (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Tea: Blueberry Jam

Description: We’re jammin’

Blueberries might just be the greatest fruit around – after all, they’re the star ingredient of North America’s favourite muffin. And hundreds of years before moms were making them into jams, jellies and cakes, blueberries were called “star berries” and revered for their healing powers. Another little known fact about blueberries is that they make for one great cup of tea – when you blend them with black tea, elderberries, cornflowers and stevia, it’s the perfect companion to your morning toast.

Ingredients: Organic: Fair Trade Certified black tea from Sri Lanka, blueberries, elderberries, pink cornflower petals, stevia. With organic and natural flavouring*.

Preparation: 1.25tsp, 98C water, 6min steep

Stacey: Hmmm…
Brooke: Yay!
Stacey: Definitely blueberry.
Brooke: Yay! It smells so good!
Stacey: But I’m worried- teas that smell good don’t often taste as good.
Brooke:  But Alpine Punch!

-tea steeped-

Stacey: Wow- it’s so dark! It definitely still SMELLS like blueberry jam. I hope I like it. I’m really feeling a nice tea today. What’s in this one?
Brooke: reads up to “Stevia”
Stacey: NOOOOO! Nooo ho ho ho ho NOOO! Oh and I was so excited. Ugh. Nooooo!
Brooke: I shouldn’t have read that.
Stacey: Ughghghghg.

*A little side note: I hate stevia. Hate it, hate it, hate it! It’s an alternative to sugar but it is has this very distinct taste that is quite overwhelming. Just a fair warning to those of you with a sensitive palette.

*Sip*

Stacey: The good news is, I don’t really taste the stevia. It’s a subtle blueberry. Not super strong. I would very much like to have it with a scone. A blueberry scone. Wait, well, no. I guess since it’s a blueberry jam tea, it’s like “why don’t I have a scone to go with this jam?”
Brooke: It’s definitely another sweet one.
Stacey: Less so than white frost, though. I can tolerate this one.
Brooke: I do really like the blueberry flavour.
Stacey: Yes, it is very nice. I don’t think I’ve ever had a blueberry tea before.
Brooke: I think they just need to realize they don’t need to sweeten everything for us. Stevia was a bad call. But I think you’re right, this would go very well with a plain tea biscuit, or scone, or croissant. It’s a dessert tea. Like.. THIS would be my dessert.
Stacey: I guess they had no choice- blueberry JAM is very sweet.  It’s still not as as sweet as that other one, though. When we had white chocolate frost I could only drink 1/3 of the cup; I just couldn’t swallow it. This is much better!

Tea vibes:

Stacey: If you’re a fan of blueberries, I would definitely recommend this tea. It almost tastes like a herbal, so the bitterness of a black tea is very minimal. For those who dislike stevia, it’s on the milder side. It would definitely pair well with a plain dessert after a holiday dinner party. 3.5/5 stars

Brooke: This is a delicate treat that will wash your senses in blueberry fields (forever). No, for real, it’s an incredibly sweet yet subtle taste that will fill you up and leave you satisfied. No sugar or milk needed and be sure to steep it lightly. It wouldn’t be a daily tea for me but it would be a great blueberry on top of a nice day. 3/5 stars

And there you have it, another tea day in the books! We hope you enjoy your side of blueberry jam today, because we sure did.

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke


Ha ha! Vomit.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Rooibos de provence (DAVIDsTEA) | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

