Vanilla Oolong

Why hello kind readers!

We hope that you are all doing well and are enjoying the reemergence of spring (shhh, don’t read that too loud in case Mother Nature hears [Brooke: read that too loud, Stacey?]). With Easter weekend just around the corner Brooke and I thought it pertinent that we bring you our second last DAVIDsTEA box set. So without further ado, we give you Vanilla Oolong.

Vanilla Oolong from DAVIDsTEA

Tea: Vanilla Oolong

DAVIDsTEA Description: Discover the power of vanilla and oolong, with a little hint of orange. It’s temptingly rich. We’ve used Pouchong tea leaves, the least oxidized of oolongs. Which means that it’s almost as high in antioxidants as green tea. A lucky thing, because this tea is really quite addictive. Who would have thought that something this smooth and creamy could be so healthy?

Ingredients: Taiwanese pouchong oolong tea, green tea, lemon myrtle, marigolds.

—-

Opting for a teapot again, we steeped 3 tsp of tea (for two cups) in water that was 94°C and let it steep for 5 min. You know the drill.

Brooke: It smells wonderful. It’s like a bouquet!

Stacey: Mhmm!

*Sip*

Stacey: Tastes bouquet wonderful?
Brooke: No, it doesn’t taste like a bouquet. I can see—no, taste why this is an expensive tea.
Stacey: Mmmm ooh it’s so smooth and creamy. A lovely vanilla, not over powering at all!
Brooke: This is…YUM! Oolong is somewhere between green and black tea. The leaves are not as harshly prepared as the black, it seems.
Stacey: I almost feel like it has elegance to it. You would not want to drink it every day, it would be more of a special occasion tea.
Brooke: Really? I would drink it every day. Though…I suppose you don’t want too much of a good thing.
Stacey: It tastes so good; it would almost be a treat.
Brooke: Yes, but there is nothing about it that screams “guilty pleasure”, it’s not bad for you in any way.  I really like the fullness, it’s really well saturated.
Stacey: Mhmm, I like that it tastes like oolong when you first sip it and then vanilla takes over after that. It’s not a hint…I don’t know how to describe it.
Brooke: Vanilla is not an afterthought; it’s fully infused in this tea.
Stacey: Yes exactly!
Brooke: What would you do without me?

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: I was a little worried about this one based on my previous vanilla tea experience, but I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this tea is everything I thought it wouldn’t be. It’s light, flavourful, and oh so good! I would have this one again in a heartbeat and offer to anyone who asked. Not sure about the price but I’m glad we got to experience it in the box set. Definitely a keeper! 9/10

Brooke: This is a nice fully bodied tea that fills your belly. Its vanilla flavours are strong throughout the cup but the oolong softens the whole effect. As a frugal person I wouldn’t buy this, but if I had the cash it would be in our cupboard. Very, very nicely put together.  8.5/10

Final thoughts: 

Brooke: Would this be a good birthday gift, Stacey?
Stacey: I don’t know… there are so many teas to choose from!! I love so many.
Brooke: Too many teas, too little time.

Happy Easter everyone!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke


The Easter Bunny has arrived! [Brooke: The Eas-“tea” bunny?]

2 responses

Leave a Reply

