Kiwi’s Big Adventure

Good afternoon tea folks!

Spring is (kind of) in the air; the birds are chirping, the clocks are an hour ahead, the snow is melting (and then snowing again), and Brooke and I are almost done our “24” days of tea. Hurray! Today we bring you Kiwi’s Big Adventure.

kiwi2

Tea: Kiwi’s Big Adventure

Ingredients: Green tea, freeze-dried kiwi, apple, lemon peel, lemongrass.

DAVIDsTEA Description: Fasten your seatbelt

There’s something about a kiwi fruit that just makes us smile. It could be their cute round shape, or their fuzzy skin, or their bright green colour. But we think the best think about a kiwi is the taste – like a cross between a peach and a melon, only better. So it goes without saying that this kiwi-spiked green tea is a real treat. From the second the aroma hits you, you know you’re in for something special. Sweet, fruity, tart and lively, it’s an adventure you won’t soon forget.

Brooke and I warmed up 2 cups of water to 82°C and combined it with 2 tsp of tea leaves. We let the tea steep in a pot for 3 minutes before pouring into our  cups. Let the tea review begin!

Brooke: Yep, I can smell the kiwi, it’s nice.

*Sip*

Brooke: Hmm, very floral.
Stacey: It’s a nice warm tea… but I can also see it as an awesome iced tea.
Brooke: I really get the kiwi. It reminds me of Strawberry Long Island Tea from the Tea Store, both of which would be very good as iced teas.
Stacey: Yes, agree. Mmmm, this one tastes like a good one.
Brooke: It kind of comes in two steps, you really taste the green tea when you first take a sip and then after you’ve swallowed you get this perfume of kiwi.
Stacey: Very different to that last green tea we had. Toasted Walnut had more of a wooden flavour to it whereas this tea is much more fruity and floral like you mentioned.
Brooke: Yeah, it has a citrus taste to it.
Stacey: It reminds me of rollerblading along the canal, because I did that a lot last summer—rollerblade back from DAVIDsTEA, iced tea in hand. Makes me really want summer…Argh, WHY would this put this in a 24 days of tea pack?
Brooke: Not sure- I think it would be much, much tastier as an iced. We could get it, but I would only serve it in the summer. Most guests who would ask for green tea want something grittier, like Toasted Walnut.
Stacey: Yeah, I have to agree.
Brooke: Wait, is it snowing outside?
Stacey: *Sigh*

Tea Vibes

Brooke: The main thoughts that come to mind when I drink this tea is citrus and sour-ness. I picture someone sitting on a patio with a glass all covered in condensation… ice jiggling in the glass, a cool breeze floats by…a perfect summer day in Ottawa. [Brooke and I have a moment remembering summers in Ottawa…Sigh] Right now I don’t really think it suits our environment, though. I wouldn’t give it to someone as a warm tea to be honest. But I am going to rate it as if it’s an iced tea, and so it gets 8.5/10

Stacey: It’s the kind of tea that has almost a dull sweetness that isn’t too overpowering. I personally think it makes a pretty good warm tea on its own. It wouldn’t be a regular for me, but I don’t really have anything bad to say about it. This is the kind of tea that will make you think of fond memories of summer, though. Be warned! 8/10

Final Thoughts

After being blasted with more snow, this tea was a welcome taste of summer. Now if only mother nature would drink some…

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke



Not quite what the canal looks like yet but we can dream, right?

Leave a Reply

