Toasted Walnut

Hi everyone!

Oh wow, is it ever March. Can we plleeease finally finish winter and hurry up with spring? The snow keeps falling and the cold keeps holding on to the bitter end. What else to do but drink a tea and cozy up with some Netflix? After throwing together a cabbage casserole and tossing it in the oven, Stacey and I popped open door # 20 and out came one of her favourites: Toasted Walnut. To the kettle!

Tea: Toasted Walnut

DAVIDsTEA description: Drink it fireside

Traditional Chinese medicine says walnuts are a warming food. Which makes sense, because this is the kind of tea you spontaneously want to cozy up to on a cold winter afternoon. The comforting, lightly bitter taste of toasted walnuts is sweetened and deepened with dried pineapple, coconut, almond and organic green tea. Sip it in front of an open fire and chase away the cold.

Ingredients: Chinese sencha green tea, nut brittle, candied pineapple, coconut rasps, almond flakes, walnut bits.

We grabbed two mugs, filled them with 1.5tsp each and steeped them with 84°C water for 4 minutes while our cabbage casserole roasted in the oven.

Stacey: Oh, I haven’t had this one in a while. I forgot how good it smelled!
Brooke: All I get is the green sencha smell- whew!
Stacey: Really? All I smell is the walnut! Hauumm…

*sip*

Stacey: This makes me think of my internship because it’s all I drank in the summer. Yummy!

Brooke: It tastes like it smells… I don’t really taste the walnut yet.

Stacey:  I’m totally getting the opposite! I’m like, yeah, walnut! But there’s a hint of sweetness in it.

Brooke: It really just reminds me of a different version of the one we had with sushi- no major flavours coming through.

Stacey: Mm. There’s more of a woody feel to this one, though.

Brooke: Hehe, woody. Hmm. there’s this flavour I can quite grasp, it’s almost butterscotch-y. Really light tones of that. I could be going in the same direction as those olives in Detox, though.

Stacey: I just think of summer- it has a comforting feel to it. Almost like a warm sun.

Brooke: Are you on a beach?

Stacey: Yeah, I’m on a beach. I don’t know why I’d be drinking tea on a beach but when I think of comfort I think of lying on the beach with the sun warming my face.

Brooke: At least it’s not the default wooden cabin in the snowy forest that we go for.

Stacey: Comfort means familiarity, too… But I’ve really only ever been to five beaches and never one that was warm or tropical.

Brooke: You know, I’m really not enjoying this. My mug has Snoopy and Linus on it and I think I like the mug more than the tea.

Stacey: That’s too bad, I wanted to make this a staple. It’s probably one of my favourites, actually. Mmm Mm!

Tea vibes:

Stacey: The woody flavouring is subtle in this green tea. You can tell it’s toasted walnut, for sure, but the flavour doesn’t punch you. It’s not a sweet tea either, which I really like. This is just a solid green tea that you can really make a regular like I did in the summer. Is there any pineapple? Yeah? I love it. This is one of my favourite greens, I suggest that everyone try it. 9.5/10 [I pushed her to say 10/10 but “nothing’s perfect”]

Brooke:  If you like greens, this one is worth giving a try. Its nutty undertones will really give a nice boost to your favourite blend. I personally wasn’t feeling it this afternoon, but sometimes days are like that. I will have another plate of that casserole, though… 7/10

Final thoughts:

Stacey: I’m… still getting this for our collection.

4 more to go!!

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey

“This is really going to take off, I can feel it!”

One response

  1. Pingback: Kiwi’s Big Adventure | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

