North African Mint

Hello all!

Stacey here to bring you another round of tea reviews. This time we have two special guests: my mom, Lorie, and my brother, Kyle. Mom decided to visit me in Ottawa for a few days to take in the sights (which included Parliament, The National Art GalleryThe Currency Museum, The Royal Canadian Mint, The Rideau Canal Skateway, among many others) while Kyle was here to take a break from his training for work. It was a fun filled weekend which would not have been complete without some tea. Cue North African Mint!

North African Mint (organic) from DAVIDsTEA

Tea: North African Mint

DAVIDsTEA Description:  An exotic journey
Explore Northern Africa, from its souks to its deserts, with this intense combination of spices and mint. It combines organic, fairly-traded green tea and peppermint with organic cardamom, ginger, licorice root, fennel clove and black pepper. Deliciously sweet, with all the romance of the Maghreb.

Ingredients: Cardamom, peppermint, ginger, Japanese-style Hojicha green tea, licorice root, fennel, clove, black pepper.

Brooke combined 84°C water with 10 g of the tea into a pot, steeped the tea for 4 minutes and we were ready to go. WOW, what a smell. The cloves and licorice were really hitting our senses, making us all a little uneasy.

*Sip*

Lorie: I’m not sure if I like this one. It leaves an aftertaste…

Mom made a sour face, scrunching her nose.

Stacey: It does have a funky smell to it.

Lorie: Maybe it’s the fennel seed or the licorice that smells like that, it’s very strong.

Brooke: Unlike Sweet Dreams, where the fennel was very subtle.

Lorie: I guess the flavour gets better as it goes. You can taste the cloves, but no mint.

Stacey: I taste the mint!

Lorie: I taste more clover, er, cloves. I’m not a lover of this one.

Brooke: Oh…no I definitely taste the mint! Yummy!

Kyle: It… just tastes like warm water.

Brooke: KYLE! No, no, it’s a nice strong mint flavour that I am getting.  I am really getting the taste of pepper, too.

Stacey: It’s definitely a different mint tea, wow.

Brooke: Yeah, it’s not your normal peppermint taste. I really like how the cloves compliment the mint. I am diggin’ it!

Stacey: It’s good, but I’m not blown away.

Brooke: But a tea doesn’t need to do that. Hmm…this tea makes me think of White Point resort in Nova Scotia. I went there with my family when I was younger and they had an activity where you punctured an orange with cloves for a decoration. Whenever I smell cloves I get brought back there. : )

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: Hmm. Well, I don’t like the smell but I like the taste. Actually it’s interesting because it seems like the opposite of most teas; usually it smells better than it tastes. I’m liking the mint and the cloves are an interesting twist. I was told recently that honey goes well with mint tea so that would have been fun to try with this one. Next time! 7.5/10

Lorie: I didn’t like the smell and the cloves taste was too overpowering. It tasted more like a roobios than a green tea. Like I said, I wasn’t a huge fan of this one.  5/10

Brooke: I was nervous when I gave it a sniff but was pleasantly surprised with my first sip. The cloves and licorice do a good job to compliment the mint, bringing it from a regular mint tea to a new level. With pepper-y undertones it would not be a tea I would have every day but I enjoyed none the less. 7.5/10

Final thoughts:

Brooke: I could go for some sorbet right about now. Hm.

Well there you have it folks, have some mint tea and you will crave sorbet. And thanks Mom for coming down for a visit, it was a blast! Kyle… isn’t a tea drinker, apparently. Ah, can’t win ’em all!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke

A beautiful sunset in the nation's capital.

One of the many beautiful sights to see in Ottawa, the National Art Gallery

One response

  1. Pingback: Tea: Organic North African Mint | Happy Sushi Belly

Leave a Reply

