Detox

Hiya!

Oh readers, we’ve missed you. We apologize dearly for the delay in our posts of 2013.  Since returning to Ottawa, Brooke and I have both been quite busy, so much so that we barely even see each other, let alone have a tea together. I started a new job as a research assistant and have been enjoying the freedom of post-student life while Brooke has jumped back into her Master’s, improv practices, and Girl Guide meetings full-force. Thank goodness we both drank a tea while we were at home and I finally had the time to put it all together. Rest assured our next post will be back to the norm of the two of us goofs having a tea and a laugh together. For now- onward to Detox!

detox

 Tea: Detox

DAVIDsTEA Description:  Restart and restore

Need a reboot? Try this traditional formula. The rooibos will restore your equilibrium with iron, potassium, zinc and manganese. The sencha will pump you full of antioxidants. The ginger’ll zap lethargy and headaches. The ginkgo will clear your mind. The lemongrass will detoxify your liver. And the juniper berries will flush out toxins and any lingering regrets. Not working? Just go back to bed.

Ingredients: Rooibos, sencha green tea, ginger, lemongrass, ginkgo, juniper berries. With natural lemon flavouring.

I drank my Detox on New Year’s Day with my Mom (seemed fitting, given the lack of sleep and consumption of other liquids) and Brooke gave Detox a try when she woke up one morning not feeling so hot back in December. We swapped notes afterward.

Given that this was a mixture of a green and rooibos tea, I was a little shocked when the DAVIDsTEA instructions called for 98° water to be poured over 1.5 tsp of tea leaves, but it seemed to work just fine. I steeped my leaves for a good 5 minutes and Brooke went for 6.

I’m not going to lie, I was kind of  dreading this tea. The description and ingredients just weren’t doing it for me…seemed like a lot of strong flavors in one tea, and the smell…phew, it cleared my nose alright! I felt a little apprehensive when I finally took the plunge.

*Sip*

Stacey: Hmm, this tea actually not that bad. No, it’s not bad at all! The taste reminds me of a ginger tea I really like.
Lorie: Tastes like cough syrup to me…but with a fruity taste afterwards.
Stacey: It has a lighter taste than I thought it would, not overpowering at all. You can definitely taste the ginger and the lemon grass though.
Lorie: It would be good if you had a cold I think.
Stacey: Or after a night of ringing in the New Year!

Meanwhile, back in Halifax, Brooke let her tea settle for a good 10 minutes before taking her first sip. She said that Detox had the overwhelming smell of olives, which is ridiculous.

Brooke: Mmm, It tastes like chamomile; soft and soothing. There is a slight spice that lingers at the tip of your lips and tongue. The reviews made it sound scary, but it’s just another night time tea. The flavour of Detox tea definitely doesn’t bite you or even comfort you… it just sits with you. One thing I will say is this tea is doing wonders for my sore throat.  And it has a strong olive taste too!  [Not gonna lie, no idea what she’s on about with the olives.] After letting it sit for 10 minutes, the flavour dulled a bit but was still lovely. Yummy!

Tea Vibes

Stacey: I found this tea to be a lot less harsh than I thought it would be, which is a good thing. I’ve had a few “sore throat” teas that have been really strong and had an overpowering lemon flavor to them but Detox is not like that at all. I think the ingredients really worked well together and left me with a nice, pleasant aftertaste. I wouldn’t necessarily say this is a staple tea, but I wouldn’t turn it down if it was offered. I give this one a 7/10.

Brooke: Oh I liked this one. It was neat- after I had this tea and went for a walk along the ocean with my parents and we went to a little tea shop down the road. There I tried their version of Detox and had fun considering the flavours. The other tea still had a heavy sense of Chamomile, seemed a little stronger but I may have felt that way because I was cold from our winter walk. No olive taste though [But seriously? Olive? I don’t even know where she is getting that]. Overall, this tea is calm and soothing. I liked it better than a regular chamomile; it made me smile. 7.5/10

Hooray, after a bit of a break ,the two tea roomies are back! We’ll be much more frequent in our posts from now on, we promise. As a nice plus, we finally got our tea together and even had a brew this evening! Brooke is looking forward to sharing our experience with you, so look for that in the next couple of days. Hope you all are having a lovely, mild January. Happy tea drinking!

Until next tea,
Stacey and Brooke

ocean

Brooke wanted me to show you all her lovely ocean walk that she mentioned, so here it is. 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Tea Connoisseurs

  2. Pingback: Day 5: Detox (read: Cresting Cranes of Legend) | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

