Read My Lips

Hi lovely readers!

With Stacey and I both back in our respective homes, joint tea drinking has come to almost a complete halt. Still, we’ve kept our promise and last night we skyped over a delicious brew- Read My Lips. We attempted to do this tea a week ago when Stacey was visiting my sister and niece but the conversation dwindled down to “Oooh isn’t she the cutest? Look at that smile! What a chubby bub!” and not much discussion occurred about the tea itself.  Here, we attempt the tea yet again with delicious results.

Read My Lips

Tea: Read My Lips

DAVIDsTEA description:

Kiss me, kiss me

Okay, this is probably the world’s best chocolate tea. Honestly. Better than dessert. More reliable than sex. It’s a totally decadent combination of China black tea, vanilla, peppermint, chocolate bits and spicy red peppercorns. Plus it contains little red candy lips for a kiss of sweetness. In other words, it’s a completely satisfying spring experience with no guilt or strings attached.

Ingredients: Chinese black tea, peppermint, dark chocolate, red lip sprinkles, pink peppercorn

Read My Lips is a black tea, so I used 1.25tsp in my cup and Stacey made a pot for her and her parents using thrice the amount (my Mom didn’t know she was allowed to try the tea too and was disheartened I hadn’t invited her- next tea, I promise). I steeped mine extra-long, for about 10 minutes, because the last time I had this tea I felt it was too weak.

Stacey: I smell chocolate and mint.
Brooke: It smells like a steamy sauna.
Stacey: Oooh yes! A eucalyptus smell.
Brooke: How does that…?

*sip*

Stacey: Mmm. I get more mint than chocolate in this flavour.
Brooke: I taste more chocolate, actually.
Stacey: Maybe because you steeped it for ten minutes?
Brooke: Maybe. Oooh I definitely taste a bit of the mint now.
Stacey: Look at my phone! Look how big it is!
Brooke: Stacey, the tea! The tea!
Stacey: I’m sorry we just haven’t seen each other for so long! So much to say!

Stacey takes a sip and chokes during conversation. “It’s because my sip wasn’t enough and it just…” “Maybe the tea wants you to get back on subject!!”

Brooke: What social situation does this tea remind you of?
Stacey: Uh… what… what do you mean? Like… First day of school? Wedding?
Brooke: Like, awkwardly talking to an old friend at the grocery store or going on a date with your husband of seven years.
Stacey: That’s… an interesting question. It’s hard, any social situation I’m thinking of is all about my own experiences.
Brooke: I think it reminds me of having a conversation with the hotel desk clerk as you check in for the night. You’re excited for the evening.
Stacey: I keep thinking, like, going skiing. Coming in after tubing with close friends in tow.

Tea vibes:

Stacey: It’s minty and chocolatey, that’s for sure. Any lip vibe? Not really. I don’t get the whole “more reliable than sex” part. It’s not more reliable! [Brooke: hehe] I don’t taste too much peppercorn, if any at all. On the other hand, I’ve had this tea a bunch of times and every time I’ve enjoyed it. I’ve never regretted a sip.  If you’re a fan of those minty-chocolate candies then you’ll like it. 8/10

Brooke: This whole tea is like that mint. It’s minty, you like it, you bite down and taste chocolate and are confused, you chew, you swallow. It’s nice! Not like sex, though. No. And the little lips in the loose tea flakes are cute- a super sweet little touch. The loose leaf smells amazing, too. Couldn’t really get the vanilla but I did get a little hint of peppercorn spice at the end! I’d give it a 7/10. It’s not bad, it’s simple, smart, and delicious.

Mmm Mmm, another tea for the books. Ooh! Wait, before we go, we have a special announcement! Stacey and I both entered Nourish Tea’s Grand Holiday Giveaway recently and WE WON! That’s right, on my birthday we were told that we are the proud new owners of EIGHT 100g tins of tea!! Once we’ve finished with 24 Days of Tea, we now have our next batch to review for you! Be excited.

Well, readers, with Christmas right around the corner, we hope you all have a happy and festive holiday with your friends and family. Grab a tea, snuggle up by the tree, and enjoy your well-deserved break. Hey, at least this tea is more reliable than snow on Christmas day.

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey

Happy Christmas, Harry. HAPPY!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Day 19: Read My Lips | Tea Connoisseurs

  2. Pingback: Day 13: Read My Lips | Tea Connoisseurs

Leave a Reply

