Glitter and Gold

Hi readers!

We hope you’ve been enjoying your Decembers so far. In Ottawa, it’s been cold and rainy but the Christmas tunes have started and lights are up! It’s a groggy morning and after doing a quick grocery run, we figure having a tea after breakfast was just right. Today’s tea is a toe-tingling, sparkly brew that is sure to dazzle up anyone’s morning. Visually, at least.

Glitter and Gold

Tea: Glitter and Gold

Ingredients: black tea, sugar crystals, gold sugar balls, vanilla, orange peel, cloves

DAVIDsTEA description: see below.

Since I had a meh sleep, we decided to brew a pot with the whole loose leaf tin. Stacey was only allowed to have one cup, of course. As we munched on our breakfast of croissants and blueberries and waited for our teas to cool, we were delighted to see glitter and shimmering gold in our mugs.

I was just heading out of the kitchen into our family room with my brew, ready to set up my laptop for our tea time, when SLAM. My pointer toe made contact with our arch in the hallway. AAARGH! My poor new white sock never stood a chance. The burning feeling of pain is still strong as I type this, so Stacey suggested we try the teas to distract me.

*sip*

Stacey: It’s a black tea, mhmm, but there’s something there.
Brooke: I’m getting a creamy feel but I don’t know why.
Stacey: I taste the cloves. They come out nicely. Ahh!
Brooke: Urgh, my toe still hurts.
Stacey: Hmm, let’s read what DAVIDsTEA has to say about this one…

“Sophisticated seduction…

This deep dark Chinese tea is like a gorgeous starry night, glimmering with gold and silver sugar crystals that shimmer as they steep. Take a sip and the slow suggestion of cinnamon will warm your body. Your toes will tingle…”

Brooke: WHAT?
Stacey: Um.. Your toes will tingle…
Brooke: WAIT… WAIT. WHAT? WHAAAAT?
Stacey: The universe just knew, Brooke. Oh my God. Oh wow.
Brooke:  HOW DID THEY DO THAT?
Stacey: That is too perfect. I am crying laughing over here…
Brooke: Are you kidding me?
Stacey: K, wait, the rest goes…

“[…] Your mind will turn to fireworks, falling stars, late-night seduction. It’s basically magic. (Is it getting hot in here, or is it just the tea?)”.

…Is your toe tingling yet?
Brooke: Oh, it’s tingling alright. MAN!
Stacey: HAH! There are definitely fireworks; this blows my mind, oh man.
Brooke: Well, DAVIDsTEA, kudos. I didn’t think it was possible but you’ve done it. This is no coincidence. You broke my toe.

 .
Stacey: Wait, the description also says “Allergens: Not vegan”? Um.. what’s… what’s in here that’s animal product?
Brooke: Beats me.
Stacey: Well, the feature ingredients are orange and vanilla. I definitely taste the orange, yummy!
Brooke: It reminds me of orange pekoe; it’s like our last one that was simple but had a fun sweet swing to it.
Stacey: It DOES just taste like orange pekoe. I think they might have just put glitter and orange in here and then went “oooh! You’ll love it!”
Brooke: With a hint of “take THAT, toes!”

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: I think I get what you were saying earlier; DAVIDsTEA has a black tea base and this is it. I’d like to try this one with my grandma, I think, because it reminds me so much of orange pekoe which she loves. It’d be fun to have a clear glass to get the whole effect of the ‘glitteryness’, too. This tea is another not-too-crazy-pretty-solid-wouldn’t-scare-anyone-off tea. Simple, relaxing, and sparkling. 7.5/10

Brooke: Yep. I love the glitter, I think that’s really unique… but I think without the visual, this tea is quite normal. It’s a good breakfast tea; it’s got some sparkle… but damn. If I have to stub my toe every time I want a cup, I’ll pass. It’s not worth the throbbing ache I get to deal with for the next day or two. In all seriousness, it’s a decent tea, but the “ooh ahh” factor is in the sparkle, not the taste. 6.5/10

Phew. A stubbed toe didn’t seem to stop me from going on a skate with Stace at our uni’s ice rink but it did make for a more delicate climb when I bouldered later in the evening. Hopefully if you feel like trying it, you won’t have such a tingly toe experience. Instead, sit back and let it make your morning just a little more dazzling.

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey

image

I’m sure I said something as delicate as this…