Salted Caramel

(New to our blog? Check out our first post- 24 Days of Tea)

One brisk fall morning, after the capital’s first snow fall, two roommates sit down for a relaxing cup of tea. Or so they thought…

 Brooke: Oh it’s a black tea, “medium caffeine” it says.
Stacey: I bet you it’s Chocolate Rocket.
Brooke: But we already had Chocolate Rocket.
Stacey:  I meant Checkmate.
Brooke: *struggle struggle* Stupid…box….!
Stacey: I can help you if you want.
Brooke: No, I got it. *struggle struggle* Oh! Salted Caramel… YOU WERE WRONG.
Stacey: What, I…
Brooke: You need to stop making bets without consequences, Stacey! You can’t say “bet you this is a thing” and then just brush it off when you’re wrong!  You keep doing that and it’s not FAIR!
Stacey: …I’ll go start the kettle.

Tea: Salted Caramel

Ingredients: Black tea, coconut, caramel bits, English toffee bits, sea salt

DAVIDsTEA Description: There’s no better treat than a salted caramel. You won’t find this in your history books, but we’ve heard that Romeo seduced Juliet with a salt-sprinkled toffee. Rich, buttery and sweet with a kiss of salt – who can resist? So it goes without saying that it makes for a seriously delicious tea. This is a rich black tea blend, strewn with pieces of English toffee, coconut, caramel and a touch of French sea salt. It’s guaranteed to seduce your taste buds.

Since we pulled out another black tea, we steeped our leaves for 5 min at a hot 98°C (Brooke wanted me to put in a picture of the boy band 98 degrees, but I said no). We also opted to use the entire 10g tin to make a pot (more on that later).

*Sip*

Stacey: Oh… it has a nice buttery-ness to it.
Brooke: I just taste sugar.
Stacey: I don’t think it’s too sweet at all. I usually don’t like sweet teas. I definitely taste the caramel…Mmm.
Brooke: I get the smell of chocolate. It’s not too bitter…it’s not too heavy…yes; I can see how they are trying to seduce me with this. STILL no coconut, though. This is nice, but I just see it as a sweet black tea.

Keeping on our theme of music (Bieber, Spice Girls, 98 degrees…what?), we decided to consider musical themes that we felt matched up with Salted Caramel tea.

Brooke: I have no idea why, but I think of A Christmas Carol. You know, Scrooge? It’s not even a musical!
Stacey: Well the Muppet’s Christmas Carol has music, is that what you were thinking of?
Brooke: Nope, I was thinking of the stage production. No music at all. Oops!
Stacey: Well, it reminds me of caramel popcorn, so I have a mash-up of carnival music and some sort of classical music in my head. Or maybe it’s just a monkey playing piano….

 

Tea Vibes

Brooke: You know, what often happens with DAVIDsTEA is they throw a lot of flavours at you. We have guests who ask for regular tea and we never have anything simple to offer them from our stash. I think this tea would be nice to have in our cupboards just for that. It’s a regular black tea with just a hint of caramel. I recommend this tea for someone who is used to drinking the regular Red Rose and is a little intimidated by all the flavours DAVIDsTEA offers.  I give it a 7.5/10 because you don’t always need a flavourful tea to make your morning.

Stacey: I really like this one. Like many other of the DAVIDsTEA we’ve had, I’m finding the flavours coming out more in the second half of the cup (why do they do that?). It’s definitely a dessert tea, one to enjoy after a big fancy meal. The smell really does it for me too. The caramel lingers in my mouth after I swallow. Wait…is this what they meant when they said seduced? I am seduced? I give it an 8/10.

*One hour later*

Uuuuh oh. Ok, so, remember how I said we made a whole pot of tea? Remember how I’ve said caffeine and Stacey don’t mix? Remember how I had two cups of BLACK TEA? [Brooke: Hoard the energy, Stace! Use it to focus on your work! Come on, now!]

 I’M ON THE VERGE OF EITHER WANTING TO RUN AROUND OR FREAK OUT RIGHT NOW. AAAAARGH!

 UNTIL NEXT T–

Brooke twisted my arm.