Coco Chai Rooibos

(New to our blog? Check out our first post- 24 Days of Tea)

Hello precious readers!

Welcome back to another episode of Tea Time. I’m Brooke, and I’ll be your host this afternoon. Today, Stacey and I dive into the world of spice with a zippy Coco Chai Rooibos. Will it pale in comparison to our rocket adventure or will it spice up our lives? Stay tuned to find out.

Tea: Coco Chai Rooibos

Ingredients: Rooibos, coconut, cinnamon, ginger root, cardamom, cloves, pink peppercorns.

DAVIDsTEA Description: If you’re into spice-based chais, this one is for you. It’s got a smooth base of caffeine-free, antioxidant-filled rooibos, and a satisfying kick of cinnamon, ginger, cardamom and piquant red peppercorns. Plus there’s a strong hint of coconut, for a slightly exotic twist. Try it straight up or infused in hot milk for a truly fabulous chai latte. It’s the kind of thing you get addicted to.

To start things off, we used 1.5tsp of the loose leaf mix per cup and steeped our mugs for 6 minutes at 98°C. We could smell the spices right away but we had some initial concerns with the flavours…

Stacey: Ok, so… the goal of this tea test is to try and taste the coconut. But…man. The cinnamon is still freaking me out. Why is it there??

After removing the tea infusers, we had both noticed hoards of cinnamon debris floating in our cups.  Like… way too many for us to not feel a bit weirded out. How did they escape? What did they want with us?

*sip*

Stacey: you can definitely taste the rooibos, Mmm. I like that.
Brooke: I was worried about the ginger, but it’s really complimentary. Like a gingerbread cookie.
Stacey: But “Coco” Chai? Really? No. There is no coconut here.
Brooke: I might have burnt my mouth off from the Indian food I had last night… but I don’t taste any spicy either.
Stacey: Aw this is fun, Brooke.

We paused briefly to shout about Justin Bieber, as roommates often do. “How could he post that shirtless picture of himself on twitter?” “He met Stephen Harper wearing dirty overalls, what a tool!”

Stacey: HOLD UP. I TASTE THE PEPPERCORN.
Brooke: I don’t know, this tea is kind of falling flat at the end. It’s just burning the back of my throat.
Stacey: …He got at MEDAL? HE WAS WEARING OVERALLS! There’s still cinnamon in my teeth.

Tea Vibes:

Stacey: Okay, so to be honest, this tea is spicy… but not a hot spicy, just flavourful. I could definitely taste the ginger but the cinnamon unnerved me. I’m always a fan of rooibos so it was nice to have a chai rooibos. Definitely NO coconut, though. Overall, I’d give this tea a 6/10. It would have been a 7 or 8 if the flavours lasted the whole time but they pittered out at the end. I would say enjoy this tea while it’s hot.

Brooke: Couldn’t agree more, Stace. There were delicious hints of gingerbread cookie and cloves at the beginning that unfortunately faded near the end. Unlike black tea based chais, this one was softer and easier to drink without milk. It filled you up nicely but be sure to drink it down before the tea cools, or else you’ll be left with spicy water. I’ll give it a 7/10, because it was certainly delicious at the beginning. Whew!

Overall, we both agreed that the two signature ingredients “coconut and peppercorn” were not accurate. We’d say they were ginger, cloves, and cardamom. It’s a nice tea to have when you’re in the mood for some zip- but drink it quickly! You don’t want to let it cool down as you discuss baby pop stars with your tea partner.

With that, another episode of Tea time comes to an end. Coco Chai Rooibos: a tea that makes you really, really, really wanna zigazig ah.

Until next tea,

Brooke and Stacey

What is this I don’t even.